Skip to content

Yes, You Can

October 12, 2011

I have a serious frustration with people who say they “can’t” do something.

source

Maybe it’s because I’m a teacher, and I simply do not accept that excuse in my classroom.

My teaching philosophy? It may be hard for you, you might struggle, and you might have to work your ass off, but don’t tell me you can’t.

For the better part of my own young-adult life, I kept telling myself that I “couldn’t.” I couldn’t lose weight, I couldn’t exercise hard, I couldn’t change my habits. The truth? Yes, I could.

It was hard, I struggled, and I worked my ass off (literally and figuratively), but I did it.

I know this sounds harsh because, in truth, it is. But it’s a belief that I can’t shake.

One of my biggest pet peeves is when people say they can’t eat healthfully. They simply don’t have the time to make themselves a meal that is nutritious.

Do you have seven minutes? A microwave or stove?

Yes? Then guess what.

You can.

This isn’t rocket science. It’s not even a recipe, to be entirely honest with you.

But it is nutritious (protein, carbs, and veggies = a pretty decent meal).

It is delicious (TJ’s Eggplant Spread makes everything taste like heaven, but all of these ingredients are good on their own).

It is cheap (a can of beans costs 88 cents. Frozen veggies cost $2. The rice costs $2.50. And I have at least two servings of this dish leftover for lunches this week. My wallet thanks me).

And it is dinner.

Not into the whole rice/beans/veggies thing? I hear that.

Make yourself some pizza. Or some breakfast for dinner. Or a stir fry.

Make something. Because you can.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 13, 2011 9:36 am

    Yum Looks go good!!! I don’t like the word “can’t” either!!! my mom always told me I could do anything, and I believe her! ha

  2. October 14, 2011 7:48 pm

    love this!!This is exactly what people need to hear!

    • October 18, 2011 5:55 pm

      Husband tells me I’m the best at throwing a bunch of crap in a pan and making it taste good…here’s to throwing crap together and calling it a meal!

      • October 18, 2011 6:06 pm

        Haha sometimes the BEST meals are the ones where you throw a bunch of crap in a pan!

  3. October 19, 2011 11:28 am

    My mom is a teacher too and the word “Can’t” isn’t allowed in her classroom! I love this post. I’ll have to send it to her 🙂

Leave a Reply

