Skip to content

(Low Chub) Pumpkin Date Bread

October 16, 2011

In the past few months, I’ve put on a few pounds of what Holly so graciously refers to as “fun chub.” I’ve still been working out regularly, but I’ve been doing my fair share of eating, too.

(Yes, that is me dancing with my Kitchen Aid mixer. Don’t hate).

I’ve enjoyed weekend brunches and cake at my best friend’s wedding.

I’ve welcomed the fall season with some of my favorite comfort foods.

And, let’s be real—since I’ve started this blog, I’ve done lots of baking.

Lots and lots of baking.

Normally a few extra pounds here and there doesn’t bug me too much, but I’m starting to reach the higher end of my “happy weight.” I know what I need to do in order to get myself back in that zone (and, more importantly, back into my favorite jeans, which are starting to feel a bit snug): give more time and effort to my workouts (stop “phoning it in” as Jillian Michaels likes to say yell) and start paying a little more attention to what and when I’m eating.

For a hot minute, I considered backing off the baking (the horror!), but then I came to my senses and realized that I love baking too much to just give it up cold turkey. Baking is like delicious therapy in my little world, and giving it up just won’t work.

The solution? Bake healthier.

Duh.

Low Chub Pumpkin Date Bread

Serves 12-13

Ingredients:

  • 1 C pumpkin puree
  • 1/4 C brown sugar
  • 1/4 C granulated sugar
  • 1/2 C unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/3 C non fat milk
  • 1 egg
  • 1 egg white
  • 1 C wheat flour
  • 3/4 C all purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp each cinnamon, nutmeg, and pumpkin pie spice
  • 3/4 C chopped dates

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  • Mix pumpkin, sugar, applesauce, milk, egg, and egg white on medium-low speed of an electric mixer.
  • In separate bowl, mix flours, baking soda, and spices. Slowly add dry ingredients to wet and mix until well combined.
  • Add dates to batter and mix until just combined.
  • Pour batter into a 9×5 loaf pan (sprayed with cooking spray) and bake for 35-40 minutes or until a knife inserted in center comes out clean.

According to Calorie Count, this loaf comes out to just under 140 calories a slice (and just under one gram of fat).

The best part? It’s so moist and flavorful, you would expect it to be twice as calorie and fat dense.

Baked goods that aren’t a hindrance to my healthy eating goals?

Sweet.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. October 16, 2011 10:08 pm

    Mmmm sounds SO good. Throw pumpkin in anything and I’ll eat it.

    I feel ya with the “fun chub” (I love that phrase…good old Holly)–I’m in the same boat! Definitely still at a healthy weight, but just a little “fluffier” (as I like to say) than I’d prefer.

  2. October 17, 2011 1:24 pm

    I cannot wait to make this!

  3. October 17, 2011 7:48 pm

    I feel you too! I always end summer feeling a little fluffier than when I went into summer…must be all the holidays and BBQs and weddings and fun weekend things. Fall signifies getting back to business and cooking and baking in healthier ways, so I’m with you! And I have a can of pumpkin on my counter right now!

    • October 18, 2011 4:14 pm

      Yeah, I tend to indulge more in the summer than I do during the holidays! Vacations and things really add up. If you give the bread a try, I hope you enjoy it!

  4. October 19, 2011 12:47 pm

    I love using applesauce instead of oil in baking recipes. Quick and easy way to reduce major calories.

    I too feel the “fun chub” coming on. 😉

  5. October 19, 2011 2:58 pm

    Ha! “Low Chub” cracks me up. It looks really tasty.

Trackbacks

  1. Butternut Squash Pizza « Go With the Dough
  2. A Blogiversary Treat « Go With the Dough

Leave a Reply

