Skip to content

Butternut Squash Pizza

October 23, 2011

You’ve heard about my affinity for orange foods.

Sweet potatoes? I’ll eat them baked, fried, or mashed. Heck, I’ll even eat them in a smoothie.

Pumpkin? Like just about every other remotely food-related blog out there, I can’t get enough. I’ll mix it with yogurt, throw it in pancakes, and (obviously) bake with it.

So, really, it should come as no surprise that I would eventually move on to yet another orange-hued gourd: the butternut squash.

I saw this recipe in Real Simple magazine last month, and I haven’t stopped thinking about it since. Butternut squash pizza? Shut the front door.

Then I was perusing the frozen veggies last week and saw that frozen butternut squash (already cubed) was on sale for $1 a bag. And whole wheat pizza dough at TJ’s is 99 cents. Delicious ingredients that are cheap and already partially prepared for me? Go ahead and twist my arm.

Butternut Squash Pizza

(adapted from Real Simple’s recipe)

serves 8

Ingredients:

  • 16 oz prepared whole wheat pizza dough (or you can make your own)
  • 1/2 T butter
  • 2 cups frozen, cubed butternut squash
  • 1 small yellow onion, cut into 1/4 in. slices
  • about 2 oz mozzarella cheese
  • about 4 oz feta cheese
  • salt and pepper

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 375*.
  • Heat butter in medium pan on medium heat. Toss onions into pan and stir occasionally, allowing onions to soften.
  • After about 6-8 minutes, add in butternut squash. Stir occasionally until squash is just heated through.
  • Place squash and onion mixture in a greased 8×8 pan, season with salt and pepper, and roast for 12-15 minutes, stirring at 5 minute intervals.
  • Meanwhile, roll dough out on floured surface to make a 12′ round (or you can divide dough into four smaller balls like I did and roll those out to make individual pizzas). Place dough on greased cookie sheet, poke with holes, and bake (untopped) for about 5 minutes.
  • Remove dough and squash/onion mixture from oven. Top dough with squash/onion mixture and cheese. Bake for about 5-7 minutes or until cheese is melted and dough is browned.

For someone who is usually a pizza traditionalist, I have to say that this was kind of incredible. Creamy, a little bit sweet, and just savory enough.

As much as I love these orange-y foods, I need to accept the fact that, if I keep finding delicious ways to prepare them, I’m going to start resembling an Oompa Loompa.

Or Snooki.

And I’m not sure which is scarier.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 23, 2011 11:00 pm

    Snooki is scarier for sure!!
    I’m so sad I didn’t see this recipe BEFORE I made my meal plan for the week. Maybe I’ll need to sneak it in for the coming weekend. Yumm!

    • October 24, 2011 6:17 pm

      It’s definitely easy to fit in, especially if you can get pre-made dough like I did! Let me know how you like it!

  2. Errign permalink
    October 24, 2011 7:06 pm

    Snooki is definitely scarier 😉 I’m turning orange too – it’s all good!

  3. October 27, 2011 9:43 pm

    I’m glad someone shares my affinity for Real Simple. I made the tortellini with butternut squash and it was delish! Now I must have this pizza!

    • October 28, 2011 5:11 pm

      AH! I bought tortellini last night specifically so I could make that dish! Great minds really do think alike, eh?

Leave a Reply

