Skip to content

Stress Relief

November 2, 2011

Some days, it’s hard to stay positive. You can try with all your might to look at things through rose-colored glasses, but things that are out of your control are still going to happen. And, sometimes, those things suck. It’s just a fact of life.

Can you tell what kind of day I had today? It’s not the end of the world, but I do have some serious career and life-related decisions to think over in the coming months. I know things will work out, but it stressful to have my very secure comfort zone thrown all out of whack, and seemingly out of nowhere.

I did my fair share of ranting this afternoon (my dad, Nick, and my friend Kristine can all vouch for this), but ranting brought me very little relief. In fact, it kind of riled me up even more. I knew I had to seek comfort in something other than bitching, so I came up with a very simple plan:

1. Run. As per usual, a three mile run made me feel focused, powerful, and in control-–all feelings that I needed to be reminded of as soon as possible. It wasn’t my fastest run, but I didn’t care. By the end, I was sweaty and exhausted, and it felt awesome. Then I lifted weights for an extra boost of feeling strong and generally like I was able to kick someone’s ass. It was a great hour and exactly what my body and mind needed.

2. Eat comfort food.

For me, comfort food often = pasta. I had absolutely no meal plan in mind when I threw this together, and I don’t even feel confident calling this a recipe. I just cooked up a mix of tortellini and egg noodles and I mixed it with a sauce I made out of pureed chickpeas and chicken stock, garlic, oregano, basil, tomatoes, and roasted red peppers. Then I added spinach and Romano cheese. It was warm, filling, and delicious.

3. Drink wine. Eat chocolate.

Do I really need to explain this? No? I didn’t think so.

4. Watch something that will make me feel good.

source

source

Yep. Last night’s episode of Glee and the documentary Babies. Surefire winner right there.

5. Sleep. And start fresh.

I’m getting in bed early tonight, reading my book, and letting this wash away. Tomorrow is a new day, and my kids need me to be on my game. They don’t need to be affected by all of this crap, and as their teacher, it’s my job to show up and be on. So “on” is what I will be.

What’s your go-to plan for cheering yourself up/dealing with stress? Ranting? Exercising? Baking?

I’m open to more suggestions!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 2, 2011 7:11 pm

    Ranting helps….but like you it tends to rile me up more. Sadly, I know a good workout makes me feel better, but I didn’t make it to the gym. I think I need a GNO to cheer myself up. Are you game?

  2. November 5, 2011 7:43 am

    Now I want to come to your GNO! LOL…I hope you’re feeling a little more settled. There’s nothing more frustrating than things being out of your control (and simultaneously making no sense).

    • November 5, 2011 8:33 am

      Haha! You’re always welcome to join. It’ll be a lot of wine and whining this time around, I think ; )

      The tail end of this week was rough, but we’re all learning to deal with it. It’s silly to worry about things that I have no control over, and after a day or two of freaking out, I’m feeling a little bit better about it (approach me in Feb or March and I might be feeling differently, but we’ll see!)

  3. November 7, 2011 9:32 am

    I’ve found that ranting often makes me even more pissed off – and then I want everyone I ranted to to be pissed off with me! I find that going for a walk with the dog or sitting on my yoga mat, even if I don’t practice tend to calm me down. And that Babies movie?! So cute, it was definitely a stress reliever!

    • November 7, 2011 6:21 pm

      Misery does love company, eh? Ranting used to help me, but now it just gets me worked up (and not in a good way), so I try to catch myself once I start. I need a puppy that I can walk for stress relief ; )

  4. November 7, 2011 5:14 pm

    Good stress relievers. My favorite (and most effective) is running/going to the gym with music blaring or taking a new class. I am so focused on what I am doing, I don’t have a chance to let my mind wonder. I also keep a mini notebook by my bed and in my purse to write down to-do lists, etc…sometimes this helps when a lot is going on so I can focus on the tangible things on my list like grocery shopping and paying off bills, etc…Hope things get a little clearer for you soon!

    • November 7, 2011 6:23 pm

      Long runs are saving my sanity right about now. It’s a beautiful (and productive) thing! Thanks for the encouragement, Katie. Things will work out!

Leave a Reply

