Skip to content

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

November 6, 2011

A few weeks ago, I decided that I wanted this blog to be less baking-focused. I wanted to write more about other aspects of my life: running, work, relationships—you know, things that take place outside of my kitchen.

I also decided that, as much as I love pumpkin, I wanted to stop hoarding Libby’s like it’s going out of style and branch out, taking the opportunity to try new (to me) fall flavors.

Then my friend Kristine and I had a “girls night in,” and she insisted we make these.

She even brought a whoopie pie pan with her. Yes, they make whoopie pie pans.

She clearly meant business, and I went along for the ride.

And what a sweet ride it was. These were best straight out of the oven, still warm enough to melt the cream cheese frosting holding the cakes together. Moist, spiced, and just sweet enough. Not too big, not too small. Truly the Goldilocks of baked goods.

My big plans for breaking out of my baking and pumpkin rut can wait until next week. I have plenty of material lined up that I’d like to talk about.

But for now, all I can talk (or think) about are these.

Go make them, so that way we have something to talk about together.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 7, 2011 4:07 pm

    those look great, i made some pumpkin whoopie pies last week, and they were gone within 24 hours. i didn’t know they made whoopie pie pans though. that’s kind of awesome. 🙂

    • November 7, 2011 6:21 pm

      They were fantastic! The cakes all came out the same size/shape and cooked evenly. Great little invention right there!

  2. November 7, 2011 5:10 pm

    looks GOOD!!

  3. November 8, 2011 10:10 am

    Oh dear lord. A whoopie pie pan!?! I want one but know that it would only end up in an endless sugar headache….but these look aamzingggggg!

    • November 9, 2011 5:35 pm

      They were maybe one of the best things I’ve ever made. I’m just sad it wasn’t my own recipe!

  4. November 8, 2011 10:37 pm

    One word: yum!

Leave a Reply

