Skip to content

Buffalo Chicken Burgers

November 11, 2011

Something is off with my taste buds this week. Whereas I normally crave sweets like it’s my job (oh, and how I wish it was, in fact, my job), I’ve been yearning for spicy foods for the last several days instead.

I’ve been throwing hot sauce on everything in my sight: in my batch of Mama Pea’s Spicy African Peanut Stew (sorry for messing with the recipe, MP, but it was so delicious!), on my Gardein Crispy Tenders (oh, fake meat. You are so surprisingly yummy), on my sweet potato fries (Mmm. Cinnamon and hot sauce. So weird, so good).

So when Nick came in to town the other night, and we were deciding what to make for dinner, I already knew what I wanted:

Buffalo Chicken Burgers

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb lean ground chicken
  • about 1 T McCormick Grill Seasoning
  • about 1 tsp red pepper flakes
  • 1/2 onion, chopped
  • 1/4 C. Parmesan cheese
  • 1/4 C. Panko breadcrumbs
  • 1/4 C. hot sauce
  • dash salt and pepper

Directions:

  • Mix all ingredients in a large mixing bowl with hands until well combined.
  • Form meat into four patties. Shape with hands.
  • Grill burgers (or cook on medium high heat skillet) until meat is no longer pink, about 10-12 minutes (it might be hard to determine when meat is cooked due to the addition of the hot sauce, so err on the side of caution!)
  • Serve burgers on whole wheat buns with cheddar cheese and extra hot sauce, if desired.

Every time I bit into this burger, I turned to Nick to mumble, with my mouth full,

“THESE ARE SO GOOD.”

Totally sexy and not at all annoying, I’m sure.

But I meant it. These burgers were so juicy, so flavorful, and had just the right amount of spice.

I’m sure my sweet tooth will return in the future. For now, however, spice is where it’s at.

What’s your favorite spicy food?

Chicken vindaloo. It burns, but in the best way possible.

(TWSS?)

11 Comments leave one →
  1. David permalink
    November 11, 2011 9:33 pm

    I think this is the first recipe you’ve posted that I’d consider trying myself at some point (I recently acquired a frying pan and more than one plate–it’s like I’m a real adult).

    • November 12, 2011 7:59 am

      You would REALLY like these, David. Seriously. Blue cheese would work well, too, but I hate blue cheese so I didn’t throw it in. Make them and let me know what you think!

  2. November 12, 2011 1:26 pm

    The chicken burgers look delicious…I must try out that recipe, sometimes! I get so bored with the same-old chicken recipes

    • November 12, 2011 2:17 pm

      These were definitely not your basic chicken recipe. Give it a try and let me know what you think!

  3. November 12, 2011 8:00 pm

    that’s so funny about your tastebuds…because that has been a trend for me over the past 6 months! suddenly, sweet things don’t really entice me but spicy…oh yeah. i’m all about it. in fact, i have a spicy buffalo hummus recipe on the way. however, after i make that, i might have to make those burgers because they look SO good!

    hope you are well my friend!

    much love,
    holly

    • November 13, 2011 8:18 am

      The switch is totally unusual for me, too—and came out of nowhere!

      I’m sorry, did you say spicy buffalo hummus? Thank you for having a food blog and making recipes that make me drool. I’m forever grateful.

      Welcome home! Hope your trip was incredible (and can’t wait to see the pictures!)

  4. mama j permalink
    November 14, 2011 6:43 pm

    You happened to make a comment on Snack-face about you wanting to roast a chicken. I have been poking around for years trying to find a simple but great roast chicken recipe and because Kailey doesn’t eat chicken you will never see it on her blog. It comes from Garlic and Sapphires, written by Ruth Reichl a food critic and former editor of the now, out of business, Gourmet magazine. For a good read and a great chicken recipe you must buy the book. If reading isn’t your thing just email Kailey and I will have her send the recipe to you.XOXO MamaJ

    • November 15, 2011 4:54 pm

      Mama J, you are the best. I’ll definitely look into getting the book (maybe for a Chanukah present this year?!), but I might email Kailey for the recipe in the meantime. Thanks so much for taking the time to let me know about this! I’ll let you know how it turns out when I give it a go!

  5. November 15, 2011 7:00 am

    I can just imagine a little piece of bun dangling from your mouth as you declare your love for this sandwich! S.E.X.Y.!!! Just kidding…sounds amazing. Did you include any blue cheese?

    • November 15, 2011 4:52 pm

      Haha I keep it classy in my house!

      No blue cheese for me (it’s the only cheese I don’t like!), but I bet if you like it it would be a great addition!

Trackbacks

  1. A Blogiversary Treat « Go With the Dough

Leave a Reply

