Skip to content

Thankful

November 24, 2011

Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday, hands down, no questions asked. It has been for as long as I can remember: to me, there is nothing better than an entire holiday dedicated to spending a full day with good company and good food, all while celebrating the good fortune I am blessed to have in my life.

Here are just a few things I’m thankful for this year:

My Friends

Friends from home, friends from college, friends in Baltimore, friends at work. I am surrounded and supported by a group of loving, giving people everywhere I turn, and it is one of the best feelings in the world.

My Family

I have parents, grandparents, and a brother who love and support me unconditionally. The icing on the cake is living close to L-Dogs and Funk, so I can pretty much see them anytime I like. No matter how old or independent I get, that proximity to my family will always keep me feeling safe and secure, and I am thankful for it every day.

Nick

My best friend, my sounding board, my partner in crime, my taste tester, one of my biggest cheerleaders. I am more thankful for Nick’s presence in my life with each year that passes by, and as we’re about to celebrate our fifth year together, I am the most thankful I’ve ever been.

My Job

source

Of course I’m thankful for my job for the obvious reasons: a steady stream of income, a source of health benefits, and a place to go to feel productive every day. But I’m also thankful for the added benefits that being a teacher brings: these past two weeks, I’ve been consistently reminded why my job is the most rewarding profession I could have ever chosen for myself.

I’ve had visits from former students who’ve told me just how much my class prepared them for high school and college, I’ve had compliments from parents who have told me they feel lucky that their children had me as a teacher, I’ve had current students light up when they finally understand a concept that they’ve never understood before.

Before my first day of teaching, I decided my ultimate goal was to make an impact on one student. If I could do that, I would feel satisfied. Five years and over 600 students later, I think it’s safe to say I’ve met that goal. And then some.

My Health

Ever since my bizarre and mysterious health scare last winter, I have felt lucky and thankful for every day that I wake up feeling normal. I just went for another round of tests yesterday, and I’m seeing my doctor next week to make sure everything is stable. In the meantime, I am thankful that I am healthy enough to train for another half marathon, to not have to take any prescription medications, and to live my life the way I want to live it.

Happy Thanksgiving, everyone. Wishing you lots of health and happiness and many things to be thankful for in the year ahead!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 24, 2011 11:48 am

    Love you, Hilly. I’m honored to have a spot on your prestigious blog! Happy Thanksgiving lady friend.

  2. November 26, 2011 7:13 am

    I know the feeling… I was ‘mysteriously’ sick all summer and the doctors couldn’t diagnose it. They’re still trying to figure it out. And I too made the mistake of going online to try to diagnose myself and — in the end — convinced myself that i was dying. So far the tests have all come back fine though, so I’m hoping that this is just a scare and that it’ll go away. It definitely makes a person appreciate each and every day though!

    • November 26, 2011 8:24 am

      Looks like we’re in the exact same boat! Here’s hoping it was just a scare, and that you remain healthy!

  3. November 28, 2011 6:51 am

    you are a wonderful teacher and i hope you continue to impact these children…they need you as much as you need them.

Leave a Reply

