Skip to content

Workin’ On My Fitness

December 20, 2011

I always tend to slack on the whole New Year’s resolution thing. Often I’ll give it some thought, have great intentions to commit to something, maybe jot something down on New Year’s eve or day, and barely refer back to it/them for the rest of the year. I know I’m not alone in this, and I don’t feel bad about it, but I do want to approach this year differently.

I may not be a big “resolution” person, but I am a goal-oriented gal. I like having mini-goals to work towards, to measure my success by, and to keep me motivated. My big plan for 2012 is to come up with some goals (no set number) in a couple of separate areas of my life: health/fitness, work, and personal/relationships.

Since I’ve given a bit more thought to the health goals, I thought maybe I’d focus on those first. In no particular order, here are the health/fitness goals I’ve set for myself for 2012:

1. Lose 6-8 pounds. Yes, I feel a lot like Regina George picking such a random number

(“I really wanna lose three pounds”),

but hear me out. Ever since I lost those 40-something pounds in college, I’ve tried to maintain what I refer to as my “happy weight.” I generally fluctuate at least a few pounds above or below that number (and have for the last several years), but lately I’ve found myself creeping above that number more than I dip below it.

There’s technically nothing wrong with this: at my annual physical two weeks ago, my doctor said I’m at a healthy weight, and that my cholesterol and blood pressure are exactly where they should be. On the vanity side, my clothes still fit and I haven’t had to buy a larger side in anything. However, I would like to have more energy. I’d like to feel lighter on my long runs (and I’d like for there to be less pressure on my knees). I don’t want to lose so much weight that I need to buy an entirely new wardrobe, but I want to lose enough so that the clothes I currently own fit better.Knowing my body, I can stand to lose just under ten pounds and see all of this happen.

My bigger goal is to lose the weight by the end of February, which I feel is a reasonable timeline (about a pound a week). If it takes a little longer, then so be it, as long as I’m being mindful and actually working towards it.

2. PR at the Rock ‘N Roll USA Half Marathon.

I know I don’t need to PR at every race I run, but I feel like this is a totally reasonable and realistic goal—too reasonable and realistic not to work towards. My finish time at the Baltimore Half was 2:17:52, and my pace hovered right around my usual 10:00 min/mile for the entire race. I was VERY happy with this (I originally set a goal for a sub-2:30 finish), but I think that, with a bit of serious speedwork, I can shave at least a few minutes off of this time. I’m aiming low for a 2:15 finish right now, but I’m going to incorporate more speedwork into my training to see how much improvement I’m truly capable of.

3. Pick a serious strength-training routine and stick to it. My current strength-training “routine” is pathetic: two or three days a week, I lift for about 20 minutes and call it a workout. I’m not lifting heavy weights, and I’m not organized or mindful of what I’m doing. I know something is better than nothing, but I think I could greatly benefit from an actual plan. I’m going to do some research over winter break and see if I can find something that works for me (and my half marathon training, at least until March). I’d be happy lifting at least two days a week for at least 45 minutes, but I need a lot of guidance to make that happen. Any volunteers?!

4. Stop mindlessly snacking.

(Oh, hey Thanksgiving feast. I liked you).

On the weekends, I’m not a huge snacker. I eat my square meals, and if I’m hungry, I’ll eat a piece of fruit or some nuts. Done deal. But at school, if there’s food around, I’m eating it (even if I’m not hungry). If Nick’s here and he’s snacking, I’m snacking too (again, even if I’m not hungry). This is stupid (duh) and can be easily avoided (duh again). I want to start being more mindful of not just what I’m eating, but why I’m eating. If I find myself reaching for food and I’m not either hungry or genuinely craving it, there’s no sense in eating it. If I can get this under control, I think goal #1 should be pretty easy to attain.

I’m sure I’ll think of more goals as the next couple of months come and go, but these are the ones I’d like to dive into 2012 committing to. Hopefully, writing them down here will keep me a wee bit more accountable. I’ll keep you posted!

Any goals you want to share? I’d love to hear what everyone else is committing to!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Evan permalink
    December 21, 2011 9:50 am

    What does PR mean?

  2. AllisonP permalink
    December 21, 2011 12:06 pm

    Personal record

  3. December 22, 2011 6:48 am

    Thanks for the PR clarification. I’m horrible…

    Whenever I want to snack, I put whatever I’m eating into a small bowl…portion control goes a long way for a girl that used to eat directly out of the bag while watching TV (two no-no’s).

    I love how well you know your body.

    • December 26, 2011 7:03 pm

      I feel like I do know my body fairly well, but I need to listen to it more often! The portion control thing is big for me too. It’s wayyy too easy for me to eat more than I need to or even want to (especially if I’m in front of the TV), but hopefully I can be more mindful of it.

  4. December 22, 2011 10:00 am

    good goals! there’s nothing wrong with picking any number as a goal, whatever works for you! my goals are to kick my eating habits into gear….cut out sugar and processed foods as much as possible. it’s going to be tough, but i work out a lot and haven’t seen results in a while. 2012 is my year!

    • December 22, 2011 7:19 pm

      I feel the same way: I’m kicking ass in my workouts and not seeing many results, which means I need to get my eats in order!

  5. December 22, 2011 8:59 pm

    nice work on your goals!

Trackbacks

  1. Keeping It Personal (And Professional) « Go With the Dough
  2. Same Difference « Go With the Dough
  3. Pumped « Go With the Dough

Leave a Reply

