Skip to content

Pierogi Party

January 20, 2012

You know you have made a reputation for yourself when a friend calls and the conversation goes a little something like this:

Friend: “Hey, Hill. Do you have the day off tomorrow?”

Me: “Yeah, why? What’s up?”

Friend: “Um, I really want to try to make homemade pierogies. And I think you’re the only person who would be up for it.”

Me: “Done. I’ll bring the flour.”

It’s official. I’m the crazy friend who will spend hours hand-making pasta with you on your shared day off. Call me!

In the name of full disclosure, this is the first time I’ve ever made pasta from scratch. I admitted this to Jenna (my pierogi partner in crime) immediately, just in case she thought I was an old pro. I even admitted that some doughs totally freak me out. I can handle cookie dough and even, to some extent, pizza dough—but biscuit and pie doughs wig me out, and I had no idea what to expect from the pasta dough. But Jenna found a super easy (and egg-less!) pasta dough that seemed fairly dummy-proof. She put me in charge of the pasta, while she took over the potatoes.

I used Jenna’s food processor to cut the butter into the flour, and once it was all incorporated, I kneaded it by hand. I got the dough rolled out onto the table:

and got innovative with a wine glass:

The wine glass cut the dough into perfectly-sized circles. They were a little thick, so I rolled them a bit thinner, and then we got filling!

Jenna made a few different types of potatoes for the filling:

  • garlic and chive
  • garlic and onion
  • garlic, onion, and parmesan

This being our first time making pierogies, we got creative with our filling techniques. First we tried the half-moon strategy:

which was adorable, but also incredibly time-consuming. Eventually we switched to filling the middle of one dough circle with potato, placing another dough circle on top, and pinching together. We crossed our fingers that both would hold up once tossed into a pot of boiling water.

Apparently fresh pasta cooks up in no time at all! Once they were dropped in the boiling water, they were done in under five minutes.

We served our little dumplings with a sliced apple and steak. It was hearty, filling, and pretty much the ultimate comfort lunch.

Lesson learned: homemade pasta is time-consuming (I’d say the entire process took us a little over two hours) but totally, totally worth it. These babies were as fresh as it gets, and beyond delicious. This isn’t something I’d do on a weekly basis, but it’s definitely worth putting the time into for a special occasion! I told Jenna that I want to try raviolis next. Mmmm. Ricotta cheese…

Have you done the homemade pasta thing? Worth it or no?

20 Comments leave one →
  1. Kristin permalink
    January 20, 2012 5:14 pm

    YUP!! Used the old family recipe for pierogis… they were so good! I think we just closed them together with out fingers. Potatos & farmers cheese!

  2. January 20, 2012 5:19 pm

    Gah! You have a family recipe? Sharesies? ; )

    • Kristin permalink
      January 20, 2012 5:23 pm

      I will get it from my aunt! I made them with her at her house a few years ago. I will happily share!

  3. January 21, 2012 5:59 am

    I have never done two things that I want to do someday:

    1. had a pierogie

    2. made homemade pasta

    I really need to make sure both of those happen. Happy weekend! 🙂

  4. January 21, 2012 7:06 am

    These look great! I just made (and posted) pierogi over the weekend. It was fun and they were delicious!

  5. January 21, 2012 7:30 am

    They look simply amazing.

  6. January 21, 2012 12:47 pm

    I’ve made homemade pierogies once and still think about how delicious they were- but yes, very time consuming as well!

  7. January 22, 2012 6:45 am

    I’ve never tried making homemade pasta, but I totally want to!!!

  8. January 22, 2012 8:01 am

    We make homemade pasta all the time! It’s not my favorite activity but the results are just sooo delicious that the extra effort is totally worth it once in a while.

  9. January 24, 2012 5:03 pm

    you make the pasta, i’ll come over and bring the wine! good compromise, right? ha, looks delicious! drooling, need carbs, and cheese pronto!

  10. Kat Morgan permalink
    January 31, 2013 6:53 pm

    Hello,
    They look excellent. Do you have the dough recipe to share?
    Thanks Kat

Leave a Reply

