Skip to content

The Good, The Bad, The Ugly

January 31, 2012

The Good:

  • My training run on Saturday. In short, it kicked ass. I ran double digits for the first time in over a year, and for the first time ever (!) I didn’t hit a mental wall at ANY point during the 1 hour and 43 minutes. I felt loose, strong, confident, and comfortable. It was absolutely fantastic.
  • The weather. Today reached a high of 65 degrees. I ran outside in a tee shirt and was warm. Glorious!
  • This sauce from Trader Joe’s. I had it mixed into a stir fry of chicken, vegetables, and brown rice for dinner tonight. It’s nice and spicy, really flavorful, but not overpowering.
  • Jenna Marbles. Have you watched this girl’s videos? I am embarrassed to admit how hard I laugh when I watch them. I was extra embarrassed when I found out that several of my students love her videos. They are so vulgar and so not appropriate for middle schoolers—I know I should be appalled that they’re watching them, but I couldn’t help but laugh even harder when I found out. Teacher of the Year?
  • Kali’s Court in Baltimore’s Fell’s Point neighborhood. A few of my girlfriends and I went for dinner on Friday night to celebrate Baltimore’s restaurant week. This is the fifth or six restaurant week I’ve taken advantage of, and this was probably one of my top two favorite experiences. The homemade baklava tasted like a piece of heaven.
  • Restaurant week in general. $30 for three courses at one of the best restaurants in B-More? Um. Yes, please.
  • Glee’s Michael Jackson episode. So maybe I’ve been looking forward to this for three weeks. Don’t judge me.
  • Prosciutto. It’s probably the number 1 reason I could never become a vegetarian. I made a prosciutto, mozzarella, and spinach pizza on whole wheat dough on Sunday night. I have no words for how good it tasted.
  • The Chobani Facebook giveaway. On a total whim, I entered to win three cases of their three new flavors. Apparently I won? I’m pretty sure it’s not a hoax, so we’ll see if three glorious cases of Greek yogurt show up on my doorstep in two weeks! This is exciting mainly because the only thing I’ve ever won was a five pound candy bar back in elementary school. That sounds awesome, but it had almonds in it—and at the time, I didn’t eat nuts. Lame.

The Bad:

  • My five-mile training run today. In short, it sucked. My quads were tight, I was tired, and the entire thing felt like torture from start to finish. I had to take several walking breaks (especially up hills) and got very frustrated with myself by mile two. The only thing that kept me going was the beautiful weather; I convinced myself that it was at least nice to be outside and enjoying the random January heat wave!
  • A whole bunch of frustrating work stuff. I won’t get into it here, but today was only Tuesday and it left me exhausted and drained. I hate weeks that start like that, but I’m trying to get over it.

The Ugly

  • My feet. I know I already mentioned it, but my feet are disgusting, and they are progressively getting worse. I would post a picture if I wasn’t afraid of making you all vomit. Let’s just say the blisters are getting worse (like, a lot worse), and toenails are falling off. I see a pedicure in my future (the minute I cross the finish line of this race, perhaps?)

Your turn: Good? Bad? Ugly?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. January 31, 2012 7:15 pm

    Hey there! Thanks for the blog love on the Trader Joe’s Green Curry sauce – glad you were also a fan and love this post with the G,B, and U!!!

  2. January 31, 2012 9:18 pm

    The kids I work with at my high school love Jenna Marbles…hilarious!
    I do not have cable, so I have to wait until tomorrow to watch the MJ Glee episode on HULU. Think it would be bad if I skipped work to stay home & watch it over and over?

  3. February 1, 2012 8:44 pm

    hope things get better for you at work!

  4. February 5, 2012 6:58 am

    Runner feet are ugly…there’s no getting around it (and women seem to have it worse).

    Loved the MJ episode!

    I want to know how the Jenna Marbles conversation started…yes, you are Teacher of the Year for being an actual human being with a sense of humor and interests that outreach the walls of that school.

    • February 5, 2012 9:00 am

      These girls have apparently been telling me about JM for months, and I’ve totally been blocking them out (whoops!) Then I saw a few of her videos on a blog I read, and I couldn’t get enough. We were having this discussion about fairy tales in my class last week, specifically about how all the villains are either old or ugly (an observation one of the girls brought up), and I asked her if she heard that in a JM video (she did, and so did I), which then led to them berating me and asking me “Have you ever seen THIS JM video?! What about THIS one?!” Oy.

  5. February 6, 2012 5:28 am

    no WALL. congrats. and nice job on a long run!
    Im running the Disney Princess Half in 2 weeks, and Im totally unprepared.
    Im anticipating a BIG FAT WALL at mile 8 or so…
    we’ll see how it goes!

    • February 6, 2012 8:01 pm

      Thanks, Sam! It was a first for me. Good luck at the Princess Half—it’s one of the races that is on my bucket list! Can’t wait to hear what you thought of it—and I’m sure you’ll be great!

Trackbacks

  1. Thankful Things Thursday « Go With the Dough

Leave a Reply

