Skip to content

Eggplant Lasagna

February 17, 2012

Today was a good day.

  • I got to sleep until 7:15 and wake up naturally, after the sun came up, without an alarm. This is a treat and a rarity.
  • I only had to work until 11am. I got all of my papers graded and all of my grad school work completed for the week. This means I am work-free this weekend (!!)
  • Nick and I went out on our (belated) Valentine’s Day date. I requested brunch so I could finally squash my three-week-long craving for blueberry pancakes. We went to Eggspectations and had pancakes and eggs. Oh, and chocolate cake. Duh.
  • I went to the gym and had a long, sweaty workout, even though today is supposed to be a “rest day,” since I’m running twelve miles tomorrow morning. Whoops.
  • I caught up on the new season of The Real Housewives of Orange County. Yes, I should be ashamed of this. But no, I’m not.
  • Nick and I watched two episodes of New Girl and giggled. A lot.
  • And I improvised a delicious dinner, loosely based on last weekend’s birthday feast.

Eggplant Lasagna

Ingredients:

  • 1 large eggplant, sliced into 1/4 in. rounds
  • 1 red bell pepper, chopped
  • 1 package sliced mushrooms
  • 1 jar marinara sauce
  • 15 oz. part-skim ricotta cheese
  • 1 egg
  • dried oregano
  • salt and pepper
  • shredded mozzarella cheese

Directions:

  • Heat oven to 375*. On two large baking sheets, drizzle olive oil. Dredge eggplant rounds with oil, season with salt and pepper, and bake until soft—about 10-15 minutes.
  • In the meantime, combine ricotta cheese (I used a little less than the entire container), egg, oregano, and S&P.
  • Pour about 1/3 C. marinara on bottom of an 8×8 baking dish. Layer with eggplant, ricotta mixture, peppers and mushrooms, and mozzarella. Repeat with remaining ingredients, top with mozzarella.
  • Cover with foil and bake for 15 minutes. Remove foil and bake for an additional 10-15 minutes, or until cheese is bubbling.
  • (For an added veggie-punch, saute spinach and leftover mushrooms with one clove garlic. Serve lasagna on top of spinach instead of pasta, like we did!)

8 Comments leave one →
  1. February 17, 2012 8:48 pm

    I love when I get to wake up naturally, without any alarm. It’s a TOTAL rarity in my life. I love making lasagna and using eggplant instead of noodles. I make it in the crock pot all the time! Isn’t New Girl hilarious?? Have a great weekend!

    • February 19, 2012 5:48 pm

      This was the first time I’ve ever done the eggplant lasagna thing—and I loved it! Hope you had a great weekend!

  2. February 18, 2012 6:27 am

    I was just thinking about making lasagna and was looking for a recipe- thanks!

  3. February 20, 2012 3:37 pm

    Looks like a very yummy recipe!

  4. February 21, 2012 7:00 am

    That looks delish!!!

    Eggspectations…MMMMMMM!

Leave a Reply

