Skip to content

Recovery

March 10, 2012

On a normal Saturday, my post-long run recovery looks a little something like this:

  • Stretch.
  • Shower and dress.
  • Eat.
  • Hydrate.
  • Clean/run errands/do work/be productive in some way-shape-or form.

Today, after my last long run before the big race (which was FREAKING PHENOMENAL BTW), my post-long run recovery looked more like this:

  • Lamely stretch for about a minute and a half.
  • Shower.
  • Put on bathrobe and sweat pants.
  • Eat (gigantic green smoothie and salt and pepper chips. Recovery meal of champions) and hydrate.
  • Crawl back in bed and fall asleep for 45 minutes.
  • Get woken up by Nick and assure him I’m awake.
  • Promptly fall back to sleep for another 15 minutes.
  • Drink large cup of coffee. Read blogs. Browse Pinterest. Successfully ignore any and all work I planned to get done today.
  • Bake Gracie’s Double Chocolate Brownie Bread (subbing oat flour for white and semi sweet chips for white). Count that (and doing laundry) as my productivity points of the day.

My usual recovery routine isn’t so bad, but today’s was so much more delicious.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. March 11, 2012 7:12 pm

    Good to know it works with oat flour…love oat flour!! Glad you liked the recipe 🙂 xo

    • March 11, 2012 7:17 pm

      It was great, Gracie! A big hit with everyone…including me! Next up: Nutella Cake Batter Blondies ; )

  2. March 11, 2012 8:44 pm

    brownie bread?! Just the name alone is making me drool!

  3. March 14, 2012 6:50 pm

    I could get use to routines like that one!

  4. March 14, 2012 11:07 pm

    i love your post workout snack! since you like chocolate, i highly recommend zico’s dark chocolate coconut water. its incredible!

  5. March 14, 2012 11:20 pm

    aww loveee post-run recovery days!
    this brownie bread looks delicious!
    Good luck in your race!
    xoxo!

    • March 15, 2012 6:08 pm

      Haha I do, too! I give myself total freedom to be a lazy bum, and I take full advantage of it! Thanks, Lizzy!

Leave a Reply

