Skip to content

Rock N Roll USA Half Marathon: The Highlights

March 19, 2012

In chronological order, no less!

A surprisingly empty race expo, complete with free Larabar samples?

Yes, please!

A race start with copious amounts of port-a-potties. Do not underestimate how important this is. There were ZERO port-a-potties at the Baltimore Half starting line. ZERO. The relief that washed through my body at the sight of these was borderline overwhelming.

My new fuel belt. 

Sure, it was probably stupid to wear a new belt on race day, but this thing fit perfectly. It also allowed me to stash my phone, metro card, ID, debit card, and energy beans somewhere other than my bra. Win-win.

A nearly-flat race course (at least compared to the 2010 Baltimore course!) I’ll take a major hill at mile 6 over several major hills throughout the race any day.

A complete absence of any mental roadblocks. I crossed the starting line with a smile on my face, and I tried to keep that momentum for the entire two hours. When I started to lag, I remembered the runner I saw at mile 7 who had one leg and was propelling himself on crutches. No freaking excuses here, thankyouverymuch.

An overwhelming rush of emotion as I crossed the finish line. Like, close to tears emotion. I don’t even know what to categorize the tears AS: happy, relieved, exhausted. It was all a big jumble.

Looking down at my Garmin and seeing a PR

It wasn’t official until I checked my results online, but it’s a definite PR—by six minutes! Hell. Yes.

Bling.

Really heavy bling.

Seeing these faces waiting for me at the finish line:

I missed Funk and Nick, but this was a pretty awesome cheering section!

A true post-race meal of champions:

Blueberry pancakes and scrambled eggs. So good, I had it the day after the race, too.

Coming home to this incredibly thoughtful gift from my friend Allison and the sweetest “Congrats” card from Nick:

I was really feeling the love on Saturday, and it was wonderful.

All in all, this race weekend was fantastic. A great race that I was able to celebrate with great friends (and great food!) It had me remembering why I signed up for this race in the first place…and made me want to sign up for another one!

Nike Women’s Half, here I come…?

15 Comments leave one →
  1. March 19, 2012 7:09 pm

    That necklace is freaking awesome!!!

    I’m so proud of you!

  2. March 19, 2012 7:33 pm

    Yeah it is! I took my medal off and immediately put it on. I love it.

    And thanks, lady!

  3. Allison permalink
    March 19, 2012 7:46 pm

    I love the necklace .. thanks for posting a picture of it!!!!! I am soooooo proud/impressed!!! i hope one day i am at that level!!

    • March 19, 2012 7:59 pm

      I love love love it, Allison. It’s perfect!

      I think one day we should run a half together. Just planting that seed now…!

  4. Allison permalink
    March 19, 2012 8:00 pm

    i so agree. i think my ultimate goal. like… bucket list goal is to run one of the disney half’s !!

  5. March 19, 2012 8:38 pm

    CONGRATS!!! That is WONDERFUL!!!

  6. Nick permalink
    March 19, 2012 9:54 pm

    “The relief that washed through my body at the sight of these was borderline overwhelming.” –sounds like you might have peed your pants 😉 love!

  7. March 20, 2012 12:10 am

    Congrats! I love the necklace from your friend…such an awesome keepsake.

    • March 20, 2012 7:45 pm

      Thanks, Sarah! And yes, it really was the perfect gift. Since it’s not really acceptable to wear my medal in public, this is a good swap!

Trackbacks

  1. A Blogiversary Treat « Go With the Dough

Leave a Reply

