Skip to content

Spring Break Top Five

April 8, 2012

Among the endless perks of being a teacher is the fact that I still get to celebrate Spring Break as an adult. Come to think of it, I think I appreciate Spring Break more now than I ever did when I was a kid!

Usually I spend Spring Break not doing much of anything (except sleeping late and watching a whole lot of trashy reality TV), but this year’s break was extra special. Last fall, Nick and I decided to forgo Christmas/Chanukah and anniversary presents and spend our money on a real, honest-to-goodness vacation, something we haven’t ever done in our five years of dating (with the exception of a few overnight or quick weekend getaways). After researching a bunch of different options, we narrowed our sights on two cities that both of us wanted to check out: Savannah and Charleston it was!

The trip involved a lot of sightseeing, a ton of walking, and an obscene amount of eating. I loved everything about this trip, but here are my top five favorite things from our travels:

5. The scenery.

Good heavens, is there anything more beautiful than the South in the springtime? Blue skies, bright flowers, beautiful Spanish moss. I’m a New Englander, born and bred, but I found myself falling deeply in love with the South with each day we spent there.

4. The history. We visited our first plantation (Middleton Place),

explored one of the country’s most haunted cemeteries (Bonaventure),

and saw the homes of some pretty famous people (one of my favorite authors, Flannery O’Connor; the founder of the Girl Scouts, Juliette Gordon Low).

The dorks in us kind of loved this.

3. The architecture we found in both cities. Savannah and Charleston had a lot in common architecturally, but they had distinct differences as well. Nick and I spent the majority of our time just wandering around the streets, shamelessly staring into at these majestic homes, churches, and historic buildings.

Each one was so distinctly different than the last; I was in awe.

2. The food. My God, the food. Fried chicken, mac and cheese, hush puppies, real, homemade ice cream.

Indulging doesn’t begin to describe how I approached this trip, and it was worth every single bite.

1. Spending quality time with this guy.

He’s my favorite travel companion, and getting to experience all of this together made the trip extra special.

All in all, this trip was exactly what I needed to recharge and gear up for the end of the school year. It also got me (and Nick!) thinking about our next destination.

Honolulu, anyone?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. April 8, 2012 7:02 pm

    Adult spring break = genius! I’ve spent a ton of time in Charleston and Savannah and you’re right–the food is divine.

    • April 8, 2012 8:17 pm

      The food was out of this world. We made sure to taste-test fried chicken and mac and cheese wherever we went. You know, for quality control and comparison purposes ; )

      • April 9, 2012 7:50 am

        Actually, this was very smart on your part. Southerners all do fried chicken and mac-n-cheese differently. So honestly, taste testing was like a mini-cultural experience. šŸ™‚

      • April 9, 2012 8:55 am

        Justifying my gluttony? Let’s be best friends! ; )

      • April 9, 2012 9:51 pm

        That’s not justification. It’s gospel truth. šŸ™‚

      • April 10, 2012 5:15 pm

        Super-like!

  2. April 9, 2012 7:45 pm

    Looks like such a great time! we don’t do gifts and instead do activities together- a nice dinner, a show, a trip, etc. – I MUCH prefer it this way!!!

  3. Rebecca permalink
    April 27, 2012 9:47 pm

    The food pictures…bottom left…I must know.

    I love being a teacher for just this reason. We get the best vacations!

    • April 28, 2012 8:50 am

      Haha they called that a dark chocolate gopher—pecans, caramel, dark chocolate. There are no words.

Trackbacks

  1. Oatmeal X 2 « Go With the Dough

Leave a Reply

