Skip to content

Oatmeal X 2

April 15, 2012

I haven’t done much baking lately.

Vacation was partly to blame, but I’ve also been trying to cut my baking habit to once a week at most. (Blasphemy! I know, but Nick hasn’t been in town for over a month, and I don’t think my co-workers can or want to keep up with my usual cookie production).

But before I went on Spring Break, I baked some of the best cookies I’ve ever made, thanks to this recipe from Picky Palate.

They were thick, soft, and just the right combination of chewy and cakey. They were also chock-full of the good stuff: oatmeal, chocolate chips, and big, juicy raisins. I brought a Tupperware full of them to my dad’s for dinner, and he polished off three of them before we even sat down to our meal. I took that as a sign of approval.

So today, after I put the finishing touches on my final paper for the semester, I thought I’d celebrate by experimenting in the kitchen, using Picky Palate’s recipe as my base. The results made me reconsider my reasons for cutting back on baking in the first place.

Oh, hello. I’m so glad we got reacquainted.

Double Chocolate & PB Chunk Oatmeal Cookies

(adapted from Picky Palate’s Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies)

Ingredients:

1 stick butter

1/4 C. sugar

1/4 C. brown sugar

1 egg

1/2 Tbsp  vanilla

1/4 C. Dark Chocolate Dreams peanut butter

1 1/4 C. flour

1/2 C. old fashioned oats

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

3/4 C. chocolate chunks or chips

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  • Beat butter and sugars until well combined. Add in egg and vanilla, then peanut butter. Mix until combined.
  • In a separate bowl, combine flour, oats, baking soda, and salt. Slowly add to wet ingredients until mixed.
  • Fold in chocolate chips.
  • Scoop dough onto cookie sheet (I use a tablespoon). Press cookies down slightly before baking.
  • Bake for 9-11 minutes, or until edges start to brown. Let cool on a wire rack. Makes 12 cookies.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. April 15, 2012 5:52 pm

    oooh – those cookies look fabulous!

  2. April 17, 2012 11:41 pm

    I’m so glad you recommitted to baking too! I love the addition of peanut butter in these 🙂

  3. April 20, 2012 10:34 am

    You’ve inspired me to bake this weekend!! Those look incredible!

  4. April 20, 2012 10:48 am

    Oh those sound aewsome. I want to try the dark chocolate dreams pb!!!! I love special pbs! 🙂

Leave a Reply

