Skip to content

The Foodie Experience

May 16, 2012

Last week, my friend Jenna sent me a Living Social deal she knew I couldn’t turn down.

The third annual Baltimore Foodie Experience at the Hippodrome Theater.

A three hour tasting with some of the best restaurants in the city. Unlimited beer and wine. A food demonstration with “Bizarre Foods” host Andrew Zimmern. All for $50.

Yeah. This was a no-brainer.

As excited as Jenna and I were for the event, our expectations were met and exceeded in a big way.

There was so much great food:

from the savory (and a bit bizarre)

(dehydrated goat!)

(mini grilled cheese sandwiches with soup pipettes)

to the sweet:

(cupcakes from Mustache Bakery: red velvet, chocolate peanut butter, and PB&J—my favorite!)

(french toast cupcakes—with sugared bacon!—from Iced Gems)

(raspberry and chocolate peanut butter cake truffles from Iced Gems)

(waffles!)

(Krispy Kreme bread pudding)

to the simple and simply delicious:

(watermelon and feta salad)

(probably the most delicious thing I ate all day: scallop and risotto. It was Jenna’s first scallop! She was less impressed).

Once we had sufficiently stuffed our faces (and took advantage of the free wine), we headed into the auditorium to hear Andrew Zimmern discuss his history in the food business and to watch his (predictably bizarre) food demonstration (chicken testicles, anyone?!)

I found Zimmern to be funny, engaging, and very refreshing. He was a fantastic storyteller, and I loved his overall message. At one point he told the audience that food is great, but “food with a story is even better.” (Um. Yes). He also shared that, in his opinion, cooking for someone is the “best way you can tell someone you love them…with your clothes on.” That got a straight-up guffaw out of me. Well done, sir. Well done.

Overall, this was probably the best Living Social deal I’ve ever purchased, and I would do it again in a heartbeat. If you’re in or around the Baltimore area next spring, I cannot recommend the Foodie Experience highly enough! Thanks for the invite, Jenna!

16 Comments leave one →
  1. May 16, 2012 7:55 pm

    This sounds super awesome!!! I’m so glad you had the opportunity and I’m definitely going to watch for it next year.
    PS. Love your dress!

    • May 16, 2012 8:05 pm

      It was a great (delicious!) time. I will absolutely go with you next year! And thanks for the dress compliment: Target, baby!

  2. J to the K permalink
    May 16, 2012 11:06 pm

    Despite the delicious smell of duck testicles, someone in the crowd yelled out “don’t forget the old bay!!”

  3. May 17, 2012 9:53 am

    Holy guacamole that food looks phenom.

  4. Rebecca permalink
    May 17, 2012 3:32 pm

    What a great day! I love that you “guffaw” and admit it!

  5. May 18, 2012 8:38 am

    oh what a FUN experience!

  6. May 19, 2012 12:43 pm

    Such an awesome event! I’m already researching if my city has something like this 🙂

  7. May 19, 2012 1:31 pm

    oh gosh – it looks like you tried some epic foods!
    anything red velvet makes me swoon 😉

  8. May 21, 2012 8:18 pm

    What a fun afternoon! I love Andrew Zimmern’s show but would never be as out there with my food choices as he is. I commend him for so openly trying so many random and gross (to me!) foods.

Leave a Reply

