Skip to content

Life, Lately

June 2, 2012

So life has been…uh….busy lately.

Friday is my last day of school, which (while obviously awesome) means grading 135 assessments, boxing up every single book/binder/trinket in my classroom (in preparation for the major renovations happening this summer), and helping my team plan and execute all of our annual end-of-the-year festivities.

My summer semester (AKA my second-to-last semester of grad school) started this week. While I’m excited that my Master’s is finally in sight, I need to have half of my thesis written by mid-July. This wouldn’t be so daunting if I had, you know, actually chosen my thesis topic already. Needless to say, the next few weeks are going to involve a lot of reading, researching, and writing.

So life has been busy, but it hasn’t been all work and no play!

Nor has it been without some delicious eats to keep me going. Some highlights:

The white clam pizza from Haven Pizzeria in Bethesda. Sounds gross, tastes like heaven. Every single bite tasted like home; I didn’t know food could make me feel homesick, but this pizza did just that. I wish I had also thought to photograph our pistachio and coffee gelato, but I was too busy shoving it directly into my face.

Homemade baklava at the Greek Festival in Frederick. One of my students was volunteering and begged me to come. I happily obliged, and was even happier after I had this in my possession. I need to get over my fear of phyllo dough and make some of this at home ASAP.

The aptly named “only chocolate chip cookie I will ever need to know how to make for the rest of my life” recipe. This dough (and the resulting cookies) are perfection. Nick always requests “good ol’ simple” chocolate chip cookies when I offer to bake, and I had yet to find a solid recipe that I loved. Look no further, kids. Kate did it for you. And for me. My stomach (and Nick’s) thank her.

So there you have it, friends. I may not be whipping up any innovative, groundbreaking goodies in the kitchen right now (I’m barely whipping up smoothies and scrambled eggs for dinner), but I’m apparently finding time to have other people do those things for me! Now if only one of these kind souls would box up my classroom and, um, write my Master’s thesis…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 3, 2012 9:09 am

    Reading this made my head SPIN!!! With the exception of the thesis, I’m right there with you!!! I think I’ll keep the kids going off to college over writing a thesis ANY DAY!!! 🙂

  2. June 3, 2012 8:35 pm

    congrats on getting to the end of the school year!

Leave a Reply

