Skip to content

27

June 6, 2012
tags: ,

Today is my 27th birthday. I am officially entering my “late twenties,” as my brother (who is turning 30 this year) so often reminds me.

And I’m surprisingly ok with it.

Here’s the thing: I spent a good portion of my early twenties stuck in the comparison trap (aren’t we all?) It’s often hard to remember that you are your own person, living your own life on your own timeline. I spent a lot of time worrying about what I “should” be doing instead of enjoying what I was actually doing. I spent many conversations with friends, family, and myself about where I thought I would be by the time I was ___ years old and about how scary it was to realize that I wasn’t even close to that place yet.

This year, I finally realized that a lot of the anxiety I was feeling stemmed from a conception of adulthood that I had formed in high school. I was judging my own life’s progress based on an idea I dreamed up when I was sixteen. Either that, or I was comparing myself to friends and random acquaintances on Facebook who are living completely different lives than I am.

In other words, I was acting like an idiot.

These past few months, I’ve spent a lot of time focusing on what I have done instead of what I haven’t. I’ve done things that my sixteen-year-old self would have never expected:

I graduated from college with two bachelors degrees.

I moved to a new state to begin my career (no really, this was a huge deal).

I lived with strangers, and then I lived on my own.

I trained for and ran two half marathons.

I met the love of my life and sustained a ridiculously long-term long-distance relationship.

In other words, I’m doing ok for myself. I may not be married with two children, a puppy, and a house, but I do have a career that I love in a place that I love living. I have a partner who I want to spend the rest of my life with. I have good friends from my childhood, college, and my “new” home. I am healthy, happy, and independent. Not a bad track record, right?

While these past few years have been full of change and growth and new experiences, this upcoming year has the potential to be one of my biggest years yet. If all goes according to plan, this is the year I will graduate with my Master’s degree. It is the year my long-distance relationship will no longer be long-distance (!!) Besides these huge milestones, I have a ton of things up my sleeve, both personally and professionally.

In other words, I’m antsy with excitement for the year ahead. It’s going to be a year full of changes, and for the first time in a long time (maybe ever?) I’m ready and willing for the change to happen.

Look out, 27. I’m ready for you.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. June 6, 2012 8:20 am

    Happy Birthday!!! Hope you have a great day 🙂

  2. June 6, 2012 8:39 am

    Happy birthday, lady! Sounds like you’ve grown a lot personally, and it’ll be really interesting to see what this year has in store for you!

  3. June 6, 2012 10:10 am

    I know exactly what you mean. I’ll be turning 25 this year, and it’s hard not comparing myself to other people my age, or to my preconceived notions of where I’d be at this point in my life. I think that’s what’s really weird about your twenties – everyone is at such drastically different stages. I have some friends that had a salaried position, house, spouse and baby right after college, and some that are single and bartending well into their thirties. I agree that everyone has to follow their own path, and that it isn’t a race. It’s awesome that you’ve managed to put that kind of thinking behind you.
    Happy birthday!

    • June 6, 2012 5:20 pm

      Thank you so much, Katie—and you’re right. I guess the best thing I’ve learned thus far is to stop comparing my life to the lives of those around me; how else can you appreciate what you have?!

      Thank you again!

  4. June 6, 2012 12:08 pm

    Happy Birthday girl!! So glad to have found each other on this little interwebz 🙂 It’s so true, and I still find myself comparing me to other people’s lives. I think that’s the plus and minus of this internet age, where you can see everyone’s “perfect” lives on Facebook and Instagram and then compare yourself to what you think you should be doing. At 29, I feel so much older and so much younger than I imagined 29 to be…and I’m really, really looking forward to being 30! 🙂 I hope you have a fabulous day today and I can’t wait to see what this year holds for you!

    • June 6, 2012 5:19 pm

      Thank you so much, Erin! I’m excited to see what the future holds too; I think it’ll be some good stuff ; )

  5. stephanie permalink
    June 6, 2012 5:46 pm

    LOVE LOVE LOVE this post, as it is my birthday also, and I am thinking a lot of the same stuff…only coming to some of it a little later, I turn 29 today. Enjoy a fabulous day, and an exciting year!

  6. June 6, 2012 6:58 pm

    Love this: It is the year my long-distance relationship will no longer be long-distance (!!)

    That is very exciting. I give you tons of credit…think of all the other 27-year olds living in their parents’ basements with crap jobs. You rock!

  7. June 9, 2012 6:29 am

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY! Looks like you have a great outlook on things!

Leave a Reply

