Skip to content

Summer Things

June 11, 2012

I love being a teacher for so many reasons.

I would be lying if I said summer vacation was NOT one of those reasons.

Honestly, this summer is going to be insane, and there will be very little “vacationing” going on. I’m writing assessments and curriculum for the county, taking two graduate courses, starting my Master’s thesis, and bouncing up and down the east coast to do my annual “visit family and friends while I actually have time” trek. It’s going to be busy and productive, but I’m not complaining. It’s still nine weeks where I do not need to be up before the sun or grade papers. Sign me up!

This weekend, Nick and I kicked off my summer break by indulging in some of my very favorite summer things. We watched Chesapeake Shakespeare Company’s performance of Romeo and Juliet in the ruins, celebrated my birthday at The Dogwood (again), ate an entire gigantic watermelon in two days, and made ourselves the perfect summery meal on Sunday:

Chicken and red pepper burgers, topped with spinach, sharp cheddar, and homemade guacamole (1 avocado mixed with about 1 T plain Greek yogurt, a splash of lime juice, sea salt and pepper). Served with a side of Alexia sweet potato waffle fries.

After dinner, we headed to a new ice cream shop that serves Taharka Bros. ice cream. If you are unfamiliar with Taharka Bros., come to Baltimore and get acquainted with them immediately.

(Honey graham for me, cookies and cream for him. Both to die for).

Summer so far = pretty darn great.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. forsarap permalink
    June 11, 2012 12:29 pm

    The food looks so goooooood.
    http://www.sarajobcast.com

  2. June 11, 2012 12:44 pm

    Yay to summer! And ice cream! And watermelon!
    Sorry you’re gonna be crazy busy with curriculum and graduate school, but hopefully writing curriculum in the summer will make your upcoming school year easier!

    • June 11, 2012 12:53 pm

      Hey, at least curriculum writing makes me money and school gets me closer to my degree! And you’re exactly right: the main reason I write curriculum is to minimize surprises in the fall. Hopefully that’s the case this year, too!

  3. June 11, 2012 9:30 pm

    while I do love my job, I’d be lying if I didn’t wish for a summer vacation every year- glad your’e enjoying it so far! 🙂

  4. June 12, 2012 8:15 am

    Hah, I auditioned for Juliet with CSC (but clearly didn’t get the part). Small world 🙂

    • June 12, 2012 9:13 am

      NO WAY! Have you ever done work with them before? We go every summer!

      • June 13, 2012 10:00 am

        No, but a few of my friends have. I’ll have to try to get out and see them this summer – I’ve only seen one of their shows, but I hear good things about them.

      • June 13, 2012 1:40 pm

        How cool! Yeah, Nick and I go every summer (and sometimes in the fall, too). Unfortunately, R&J was probably my least favorite of their performances thus far—but you can’t beat the setting!

  5. June 15, 2012 2:08 pm

    Yummy! And I will have to try that guac recipe – I love avacado 😀

  6. June 17, 2012 9:25 pm

    Your summer is nuts busy! But the thought of 9 weeks of no grading is the.best.thing.ever. Enjoy it!

Trackbacks

  1. (Not So Key) Lime Pie « Go With the Dough

Leave a Reply

