Skip to content

PB&J Thumbprints

June 24, 2012

Another school year (my fifth!) is in the books, and with the end of the year came the usual end of the year goodies from my students. While I usually receive a lot of chocolate and coffee-themed gifts from my kids, this year I didn’t get either (my waistline thanks you, children). Instead I got a lot of homemade gifts: scrapbook pages, tea (yes, homemade tea!), and strawberry jam (a first!)

Since I knew there was no possible way I could eat an entire jar full of jam by myself, I got resourceful and did what I always seem to do when I want to use up an ingredient: I incorporated it into a baked good.

Now here’s something you need to know about me: I am a simple girl with simple tastes. Sure, I’ll try pretty much whatever food you put in front of me, and I guess I consider myself a fairly adventurous eater. But when it comes down to it, I genuinely love the basics.

Friends, you cannot get more basic than the peanut butter and jelly combination.

And there is absolutely nothing wrong with that. In fact, sometimes the simplest things are the tastiest ones!

PB&J Thumbprints:

Ingredients:

  • 1 stick butter, room temperature
  • 1/4 C. brown sugar
  • 1/4 C. granulated sugar
  • 1-2 T peanut butter (I put in about 1.5 T)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 C. flour
  • 1/4 C. rolled oats
  • 3/4 C. graham cracker crumbs
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • any flavor jam (but I think strawberry tastes best!)

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350*.
  • Beat butter, sugars, egg, vanilla, and PB in a large bowl of an electric stand mixer.
  • In a separate bowl, whisk together dry ingredients.
  • Slowly add dry ingredients to wet and mix until well combined (do not over mix!)
  • Scoop tablespoonfuls of dough, roll into balls, and place on baking sheet. Gently make an indentation into each ball with your thumb.
  • Spoon jam into thumbprints.
  • Bake 12-15 minutes, or until edges start to brown.
  • (Note: I have seen recipes for thumbprints that call for the jam to be added before baking as well as after baking. I added the jam prior to baking, and they held up great!)

10 Comments leave one →
  1. June 24, 2012 5:59 pm

    Well this looks just delicious! How nice to get homemade gifts from your students, what sweetpeas.

  2. June 24, 2012 7:40 pm

    looks like the perfect summer treat! how sweet (literally)! šŸ™‚

  3. June 25, 2012 1:11 pm

    Delicious! I’ve been craving thumbprint cookies lately for some reason. So glad you’re enjoying the break!

  4. June 26, 2012 9:07 am

    YUM! These look so good! And I also love your mug…and your plate!

    • June 26, 2012 10:09 am

      Thanks, Cait! The mug was a gift from a friend when I first started teaching. A student got me a matching one a few years ago that has my name on it and says “Wicked Smart.” I only drink my coffee from those mugs! I love them.

  5. June 28, 2012 4:14 pm

    I think PB&J makes such great snacks! One of my favorite cupcakes is a PB&J and I never thought I would have liked it but its soooo good! I need try these sometime!

Leave a Reply

