Skip to content

(Not So Key) Lime Pie

July 6, 2012
tags: , ,

When it comes to desserts, I like what I like.

And what I usually like is chocolate. Or ice cream. Or frosting (not necessarily cake, mind you. But frosting).

But every once in a while, I like to try something new.

Something tangy, creamy, and poured into a graham cracker crust. Because everything is better poured into a graham cracker crust.

I brought this Key Lime Pie to dinner at my dad’s. I couldn’t get my hands on any key limes, but these regular limes worked just fine. And, as expected, the best part of this pie was the graham cracker crust. Nick, who generally passes on anything that isn’t chocolate, could not stop eating this crust. I consider that a sign of a job well done.

Another huge plus? This entire pie was 100% no-bake. Which is a huge plus when it’s 105 degrees in your neck of the woods!

Citrus over chocolate? Maybe not permanently, but for now, it’s a pretty great substitute.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. July 7, 2012 8:32 am

    With the air conditioning we’ve expended in this heat wave, I will do pretty much anything to cut down on electricity. Cheers to no-bake!

  2. July 7, 2012 9:41 pm

    Key lime pie is my favorite favorite dessert! I love the creamy tang combined with the sweet graham cracker crust. In fact, I usually 1.5x the crust ingredients in order to get a thicker crust.

  3. July 10, 2012 9:38 am

    I’m glad I’m not the only one who eats frosting 🙂

  4. July 13, 2012 9:36 pm

    I haven’t had this in WAY too long but it’s definitely a dessert I enjoy!

  5. July 15, 2012 10:53 am

    LOVE key lime pie! how are you? how is your summer going???

Leave a Reply

