Skip to content

Kitchen Lessons

August 19, 2012

Even though I find myself in the kitchen quite often, it doesn’t mean that I always know what I’m doing.

A lot of the time I’m messing with trial and (lots of) error and hoping for a good result. Sometimes I get one….and sometimes I don’t. That being said, here are some of the more recent lessons (for better and for worse) that I learned in the kitchen this week:

Granulated PureVia may measure cup for cup like sugar, but it doesn’t mean that it’s going to taste or react like real sugar. Less calories in my no-bake chocolate peanut butter cookies? Good. Slightly bitter taste and incredibly dry texture? Sad.

When your cookies are too dry to look like or stay formed as cookies, crumble them into “granola” and pretend like that’s what you meant to do all along.

(Cookie fail)

Almond extract is not an appropriate substitute for vanilla extract. Duh.

Also, a teeeeeeny tiny bit of almond extract goes a long, long way. Trust me.

Everything tastes better with mozzarella cheese. Again, duh.

Wegmans’ garlic basting oil is one of the best condiments I’ve ever used. Ever.

Sometimes the nastiest-looking foods taste the best.

(Roasted eggplant, diced tomatoes, sauteed spinach, garlic oil, bulgur)

They taste even better when you let them sit overnight, and the flavors have time to meld together.

Making sauces from scratch is great, but sometimes it’s just easier (and surprisingly cheaper) to buy one pre-made.

No matter how many cookbooks you have, you’re probably going to find most of your recipes on the internet.

A little success, a little failure, a definite work in progress!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Amanda permalink
    August 19, 2012 3:38 pm

    Wegmans! No grocery store compares to Wegmans. Ever. We have them every few miles out here, haha.

    • August 19, 2012 5:54 pm

      I could not agree more! One just opened near me, and I was instantly in love. Yes, with a grocery store. No shame!

      • Amanda permalink
        August 19, 2012 6:25 pm

        No shame at all! I’m from Rochester, where Wegmans started, and everyone from the area is obsessed with it.

      • August 19, 2012 6:46 pm

        My brother thinks I’m a psycho. I am so glad I am not alone!

  2. August 20, 2012 8:10 pm

    cookie granola sounds pretty good to me!

  3. September 7, 2012 11:43 am

    The same is totally true for mint extract. I once made mint chocolate chip cookies that could have burned a hole in your nostrils. Wayyyy too much extract! 😉

Leave a Reply

