Skip to content

Yes!

September 17, 2012

After nearly six years together, Nick and I have found that we celebrate “us” an obnoxious number of times throughout the year.

We “celebrate” the day we met (usually by acknowledging it and thanking our lucky stars that it happened).

We celebrate two anniversaries: the one when we first kissed and the one when we made our relationship “official” nearly two months later.

And now we have another day to celebrate “us” to add to the calendar:

September 14, 2012: The day we got ENGAGED!

WOO HOO!

So, like a lot of things in our relationship, our engagement wasn’t necessarily traditional.  First of all, we designed the ring together, using the center stone from my grandmother’s engagement ring. We chose a jeweler together and then hand picked the style and setting. I loved being involved in the design of the ring, and I love knowing that I am wearing something that means so much to my grandmother. I’ve only been wearing the ring for three days, but I already look forward to the day that I’ll pass this heirloom down to our children or grandchildren (I’m a sentimental gal, what can I say?!)

I also generally knew when Nick would propose, although he did manage to sneak a few surprises in there! For one, I was expecting to pick up the ring by myself and then meet Nick in Virginia the next day for an unsurprising but nevertheless exciting engagement weekend. Nick was super sneaky, however, and managed to be waiting outside of a little ice cream shop near the jewelry store with a cone of my favorite ice cream in hand (does he know me, or what?) Once I got over the shock of seeing him there (and once we finished our ice cream!) we walked to the store and picked up the ring together, hand in hand.

(Side note: I had convinced myself that picking up the ring alone wouldn’t bother me too much, but it wasn’t until we were there, picking it up together, that I realized how relieved and happy I was that he was with me. I know that the reason he came to surprise me was partly for the element of surprise, but also because he often knows me better than I know myself. He knew how much I wanted him there, and, as always, he was there when I needed him most).

Unfortunately, I had a school function that I absolutely had to attend, so I sent Nick off to my apartment with my keys and told him I would meet him at home within two hours. When I got home, Nick was waiting with a beautiful bouquet of flowers, the ring, and some of the most heartfelt, wonderful things he’s ever said to me.

He asked me to marry him, and I responded with a big, huge, loud “YES!”

We were both too exhausted to really celebrate properly on Friday night (we ordered pizza and ate it at my dad’s house instead. Romantic, I know), so we took Saturday as a day to enjoy ourselves:

Of course we celebrated in the best way possible: with delicious food! We enjoyed brunch at one of our favorite spots in Baltimore (The Golden West Cafe in Hampden) followed by dessert at Dangerously Delicious Pies in Canton (this was the Baltimore Bomb pie, and it was out of control). It was so nice to take our time, enjoy each other’s company and the beautiful weather, and celebrate one of the biggest days of our lives.

Expecting the proposal didn’t make any of this less special. The moment itself and the weekend as a whole were still so very “us,” which, in addition to marrying my best friend, is all that I ever could have hoped for.

Next up: planning a wedding (?!) I guess this is where my outstanding skill at pinning things on Pinterest comes in handy…

15 Comments leave one →
  1. September 17, 2012 5:13 pm

    Congrats Hillary! That Baltimore Bomb pie is indeed out of control! And worth every amazing bite!

  2. September 17, 2012 6:06 pm

    I am totally in love with this entire post!!!! I’m so glad he was there with you to pick up the ring. I agree…he definitely did the right thing! CONGRATS!!!

    • September 17, 2012 6:14 pm

      He usually does! And in this case, it definitely was the best thing he could’ve done. Thanks again, Rebecca!

  3. Sabrina permalink
    September 17, 2012 6:37 pm

    CONGRATULATIONS AND BEST WISHES!

  4. September 17, 2012 7:41 pm

    CONGRATULATIONS!!! This is so exciting!!!

  5. September 17, 2012 8:54 pm

    SOOO HAPPY FOR YOU AND NICK!! I saw your comment and squealed out loud!!! So so so excited for you and happy to have someone to plan with!! 🙂 Congrats & Best Wishes (apparently you’re supposed to say Congrats to the groom because he was successful in asking you and you saying yes and Best Wishes to the bride because saying Congrats is tacky – or something very Emily Post-ish)!!!.

  6. September 17, 2012 8:55 pm

    I also love your story – we had a very similar situation in that we picked out the setting and the design together and I had a general sense of when it was coming – but you’re right, the actual moment is no less special 🙂

    • September 17, 2012 9:14 pm

      Thank you so much, Erin! It was so wonderful, and we’re very, very happy and excited. I’m obviously a few months behind you with the whole planning thing, but I’m going to go back through your posts as we get started!

  7. September 18, 2012 11:52 am

    “He often knows me better than I know myself” made me tear up a bit! Congratulations!!!

  8. December 6, 2012 6:48 pm

    I know I’m late, but I’m SO HAPPY FOR YOU GUYS!!!!

Leave a Reply

