Skip to content

Pumpkin Season

September 30, 2012

It’s the most wonderful time of the yeeaaaaaarrrrrrr!!!

As much as I absolutely adore the summer, I have a hardcore crush on fall. The weather here in Maryland is perfection: sunny with temps in the mid-70s, the leaves are starting to change colors, and it’s totally acceptable for me to indulge my pumpkin obsession.

Full disclosure: I never stopped eating pumpkin over the last year. As long as it was on store shelves, I was buying it. I usually eat it mixed with plain Greek yogurt for breakfast (with cinnamon and a little honey, it is a delicious, no-fail way to keep me full until lunch!) or occasionally mixed into pancake batter for a weekend treat.

But now that it’s officially pumpkin season, I’ve been overwhelmed by all the goodies I’ve seen on store shelves. How I managed to leave Trader Joe’s without their pumpkin baking mix and pumpkin coffee in my cart is still a mystery. Don’t be fooled, however. My self-control hasn’t been perfect. Evidence?

There’s absolutely no pumpkin in this ice cream. NONE. But I still buy it every year because it tastes delicious. Not sorry.

These cookies have also been haunting me on Pinterest for weeks, and I decided to finally give them a shot today. I made a few changes (vanilla pudding mix, simply because I couldn’t find pumpkin flavor, old-fashioned instead of quick oats, a dramatic decrease in the amount of sugar, and the addition of some chocolate chips), but they still came out delicious. Chewy, rich, and with the perfect hint of fall spice.

Pumpkin season doesn’t stick around for long, but it is so, so easy to enjoy it while it lasts!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Nick permalink
    September 30, 2012 7:07 pm

    for me?! =)

  2. October 1, 2012 9:18 am

    Pumpkin is my favorite! I don’t limit it to autumn. I stash the cans and eat them all through the year!

  3. October 1, 2012 1:29 pm

    I think I’ll definitely have to put those cookies on my “must bake” list!

  4. October 2, 2012 10:21 am

    I usually mix pumpkin with oatmeal, brown sugar and pumpkin pie spice to make pumpkin pie oatmeal. I do not know WHY it never occurred to me to mix those things with greek yogurt. New fall breakfast. Done.

    • October 2, 2012 5:47 pm

      I pretty much guarantee you’ll love it. It’s filling, delicious, and easy. Can’t ask for much more!!

Leave a Reply

