Skip to content

Streaming

October 16, 2012

Oh, hi! Yes, this blog does still exist, contrary to popular belief.

The reasons for my lack of posting is pretty basic and pretty lame: life is busy. My workouts are not exciting (run, elliptical, lift, repeat), and my meals are embarrassingly repetitive (I’m going to turn into a pan of chicken stir fry soon). Even my baking has been tedious (these chocolate chip cookies cannot be improved on. They are perfect; therefore, they are my new go-to recipe). That being said, I do miss posting, so I thought I’d drop in with a little stream-of-consciousness nonsense in the meantime. Enjoy for now, and check back soon for a good, new recipe or workout. I’m sure I’ll come up with one eventually!

  • Some days I hate running. I’ll do it because I know it’s good for me and because it’s an easy, do-anywhere way to fit in a workout. Other days I don’t know what I would do if I couldn’t run. As I posted as my Facebook status today: some days my biggest accomplishment is not punching anyone in the face. Those days tend to be the days when I have my best runs—and when I realize that running has become my best outlet for stress and aggression release. There are a lot of things I like to do to decompress, but running is at the top of that list.
  • This tea is great for about the first five sips. Then it starts to get a little…sickly? I’ll probably still finish the entire box.
  • Wedding planning is like a part-time job in and of itself. I always thought people were overreacting when they said that, but they’re not. Finding a place that fits what we’re looking for (and fits in our budget!) takes a lot of time and patience. Nick and I are visiting four venues this weekend and hoping to book something ASAP. Cross your fingers for us—I feel like once the venue is booked, I’ll actually feel a lot better.
  • I’ve gained back two of the seven pounds I lost this summer. I’m not that upset about it, but I am disappointed in myself. I know how they came back on: I fell back into bad habits as soon as school started (snacking out of boredom or exhaustion, cutting out my evening walk due to lack of time/sunlight, etc.) and I’m hoping to get back on track. I’d like to be more mindful of what and why I’m eating, something that seems to be really hard for me once school starts back up in the fall.
  • I already mentioned it above, but seriously guys. This cookie recipe is perfection. And it is infinitely adaptable! I’ve tossed in Heath bits, M&Ms, Snickers, etc. and it’s all so, so good. Chilling the dough seems to be the key, and the longer I chill it, the better. Forty eight hours has yielded the best results thus far: chewy on the inside, crispy on the outside, and just the right amount of caramel goodness. MAKE THESE NOW.
  • I know this is lame, but I love routine, and when I fall out of my routine, my entire body falls out of whack. The last few weeks, I’ve been going to bed WAY too late, been distracted by the computer and TV for WAY too long every night, and I’ve been paying for it by feeling overtired and grumpy. I have fallen out of my habit of reading for 30-45 minutes every night before bed, something that truly relaxes and exhausts me (in a good way!) I recommitted myself to this again earlier this week and I’m already sleeping and feeling better.
  • I love trashy reality TV, but even I won’t watch this Honey Boo Boo show. Or The Real Housewives of Miami. Even I have standards, people.
  • I need new running music. I’ve slowly been adding songs to my playlist, but the majority of tunes on my iPod are way, way too old and overplayed. Suggestions are welcome!
  • You know you’re a dorky English teacher when you get excited that your students understand an abstract concept like irony. I almost did a dance when I read their responses today and saw that they truly understood it. It’s the little things that make my job awesome.
  • Life is good right now. It’s not perfect: work is sometimes overwhelming, there’s some family stuff going on, etc etc. But every day, I’ve been trying to take a minute to focus on the positive and appreciate what I do have: my health, my family, my friends, my fiance, my career. I’m in a good place, and I sometimes can’t believe I was lucky enough to end up where I did.
8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 16, 2012 9:02 pm

    Routine!!!! I hate when it gets out of whack!! I really need to try your recipe!!! Baking seems so tedious 😦

  2. It's a Great Day to be a Hillary! permalink
    October 18, 2012 10:35 am

    I am making those cookies this weekend!! I love new recipes that immediately become stand-bys. I’m a much better baker, than cook, for what it’s worth. I actually really appreciate that if you follow a recipe, measure your ingredients, and do everything right, it will turn out perfect!

    My favorite new running jams: We Come Running by Youngblood Hawke and Die Young by Kesha

    • October 19, 2012 8:18 am

      That’s one of my favorite things about baking, and probably why I find it so relaxing: if you follow everything precisely, you can’t really mess it up!

      I just downloaded Die Young the other day, but I think I’ll have to download We Come Running right now! Thanks for the suggestions!

      • It's a great day to be a Hillary! permalink
        January 9, 2013 1:11 pm

        Felt like I should come back to say… I made those cookies about eleventy-hundred times this holiday season. They were a huge hit every time! You are right – they are perfect. I made one batch and baked them right away to see if they really needed to sit for 36+ hours. The verdict: they are noticeably better (to me) if you let the dough sit. BUT, they are still insanely good if you can’t wait two or three days to bake cookies 😉 And it taught me to *always* let my cookie dough chill before baking – what a difference.

      • January 9, 2013 1:41 pm

        Yay! I am so glad you enjoyed them as much as I did. I agree—I absolutely always chill my dough now, even if it’s only for an hour or two (but I also agree that 2-3 days is best)!

  3. December 6, 2012 6:46 pm

    I think I need those cookies in my life. I’m with you on the “holy crap…I’m a lucky girl” thing. Routine = happiness.

Leave a Reply

