Skip to content

Nike Women’s Half Marathon DC—Yay or Nay?

November 6, 2012

After running the Rock ‘n Roll DC Half Marathon this past March, I made a deal with myself: I would totally train for another half marathon in the future, as long as that race was one of the races on my bucket list: the Disney Princess Half or the Nike Women’s Half in San Francisco. I have wanted to run these races for at least the last three years, but the timing (and cost!) just never seemed to work out. “Someday,” I told myself.

The other thing I told myself after the DC race? That if I was going to run a race other than the two on my bucket list, I’d run it in a new location: no repeating my run in the Baltimore Half or in DC, either. If I was going to train for 13.1 miles, I was going to make it a whole new experience—I figured this would make it more meaningful, or at least keep me motivated.

Then, when I opened my email this afternoon, I saw a message from Team in Training advertising the inaugural Nike Women’s Half Marathon…in DC on April 28, 2013. And my thoughts went something like this:

  • Another TNT email? I am so not training for another race this year.
  • HOLY $%&#! A Nike Women’s that isn’t on the other side of the country?!
  • I wouldn’t have to pay travel costs.
  • The course is nearly flat!! In San Fran, it’s, um, not flat. At all.
  • But you’ve run a course in DC before. LAME.
  • But NWHMs are supposed to be stellar. Like, “firefighters in tuxedos handing out Tiffany necklaces at the finish line” stellar. Oh, and the whole “girl power” thing is probably wicked inspiring, too.
  • Could I really raise another $1400 for TNT right now?
  • Could I really train for another half in the middle of wedding planning and finishing my Master’s?
  • Can I enter the race and not train with TNT? Would that be better or worse?

And so on and so forth.

Here’s the big thing on my mind: if I’m going to run a race, and I’m going to raise money, I want to do it in honor of my grandmother. Gram battled three separate types of cancer in the last twenty years (breast, non-Hodgkin lymphoma, and colon), and two weeks ago, she lost her battle with colon cancer. I could train with TNT and have my money go to the Leukemia and Lymphoma society, or I could fund raise on my own and give all of that money to a colon cancer charity (I mean, I can do that, right?) Regardless of what I choose, if I do run this race, I am doing it for Gram.

So, which is it: yay or nay? In or out? I signed up for my last half marathon on a total whim; should I do it again?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Allison permalink
    November 6, 2012 11:22 pm

    YAY.. all the way YAY 🙂

  2. Nick permalink
    November 7, 2012 6:10 pm

    Ehhh, I say do it if it’s in San Fran or at Disney, then we can make a vacation out of it! =)

  3. anonnn permalink
    November 16, 2012 4:37 pm

    Doooo it!

  4. December 6, 2012 6:43 pm

    You had me at firefighters and Tiffany…do it. You’re a rock star.

Leave a Reply

