Skip to content

Thankful Things Thursday: Thanksgiving Edition!

November 22, 2012

I know, I know. Not another list of things that someone is thankful for on Thanksgiving, right? I get it. But to be entirely honest, even though my list this year looks an awful lot like last year’s list, I feel the need to do it all again, if only for myself. Because Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday: yes, because of the awesome food, and the parade, and the annual post-dinner viewing of Home Alone, but mainly because it is a holiday entirely devoted to spending time with people you love and being thankful for what you have. And for some reason, this year more than ever before, I am bursting with gratitude. That being said, here’s what I’m most thankful for this year:

My Job

This year brought a lot of changes (and thus a lot of stress) to my school, but even on my worst day, I still feel like I have the most rewarding job on the planet. I’ve been able to reconnect with a lot of former students in the past few months, and every single mini reunion reinforced this idea for me. At worst, these kids will leave my class at the end of the year not remembering much. At best, I’ve left some kind of impression on them—enough for them to want to come back and share their lives with me several years down the road. I went into teaching saying my goal was to impact just one kid throughout my career. I think I can say I’ve done that, and I want to keep going.
My Friends

My social circle is a lot smaller than it was in high school (I mean, whose isn’t?), but the people I keep close to me are people I know I can count on for anything at any time. There have been quite a few instances in the past year where I have needed or wanted my friends’ love, support, and presence, from my grandmother’s funeral to my engagement, and these people were unequivocally there for me. I couldn’t ask for anything more than that.

My Family

My grandmother’s death put a lot of things in perspective, but most of all, it reinforced the idea that family is absolutely everything. I could go on and on about every little thing my parents, grandparents, and Funk have done for me this year, but then I’d be rambling and no one wants that. I’ll keep it simple and say this: my family is not perfect (duh), but they are my rock, in good times and bad. I am so, so blessed to have so many people who love and support me without question or hesitation.

Nick

I’ve been thankful for Nick for the six years that I’ve known him, but this year I am overwhelmingly grateful for his role in my life. Since we got engaged over two months ago, I’ve often thought about how downright lucky I am to spend the rest of my life with a man who is smart, kind, generous, and loving, someone who puts my happiness and well being above all else. I am thankful that we were able to celebrate our engagement with my grandmother before she passed (and that I knew, without any doubt, that she approved of him). Quite simply, I am thankful that I have a partner who will support, challenge, and love me for many, many years to come.

My Health

I know this is something I take for granted on a daily basis, but it cannot and should not be overlooked. I can get up in the morning, go to work, go to the gym, and get a full night’s sleep without any major issues. Seems simple, but there are so many people who do not have the luxury of a healthy body. I am beyond grateful that I can live my life without any major complications, and I hope that I can do so for a long, long time.

Happy Thanksgiving, everyone!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

