Skip to content

Happy Kitchen Fails (Curried Lentil Soup)

November 26, 2012

Real Simple had this awesome-sounding recipe for Red Lentil Curry, and I’ve been planning to make it for the last few weeks, ever since I saw it in last month’s issue. Nick and I were planning dinner for Sunday night, and I suggested we finally make it. What a perfect winter dish, right? Warm, spicy, comforting, and filling. I had all the ingredients on hand except the red lentils; when we were grocery shopping, I couldn’t find red lentils, so I got green ones instead, assuming there couldn’t be that big of a difference. Right?

Um. Wrong.

When we were cooking last night, and my curry was looking more like a soup, I Googled red lentils vs green lentils and found (a little too late) that, apparently, red lentils create a stew texture when cooked, while brown and green lentils, um, don’t. Whoops.

So I apologized to Nick, and spooned out what was now a soup instead of a stew, hoping for the best.

Wish granted!

Sometimes things don’t go as planned in the kitchen, but if you’re very lucky, a kitchen fail can turn into one of the most delicious meals you’ve made in a while. This was just a very happy accident that convinced me to never buy soup in a can ever again (no, seriously. This was nearly just as easy, and way, way more delicious!)

Here’s the original curry recipe from Real Simple if you’re interested in the real thing; my soup was a result of the following changes:

  • Sub ground ginger for fresh (just what I had on hand).
  • Sub one whole yellow onion (chopped) for the scallions.
  • More carrots!
  • Sub one peeled, chopped sweet potato for the russet potato.
  • Sub green lentils for the red.
  • Sub low-sodium chicken broth for vegetable broth (just using up what I had on hand!)
4 Comments leave one →
  1. Rebecca permalink
    November 26, 2012 8:12 pm

    And here I was thinking you were perfect…

  2. December 5, 2012 1:31 pm

    Lentils are my absolute favorite thing to have on hand! This looks delicious overall though! I had the reverse happen to me once when my Indian recipe called for red lentils, I could only find green ones šŸ˜‰

    • December 5, 2012 5:44 pm

      I honestly have never used lentils much, but I’m kind of loving them. I finally bought the right ones and tried the “real” recipe. I’m hooked!

Leave a Reply

