Skip to content

2013

January 6, 2013
tags:

Have you ever looked up the definition of resolution? No? Then you must not be a dorky English teacher like myself! Apparently, the dictionary definition of resolution is a bit different than the goal-setting variety we all think of around the new year. The act of revising, solving, answering, determining? I don’t know about that.

A few weeks ago, I said that I wasn’t sure whether I’d set resolutions for 2013. I thought about it quite a bit over Christmas break and, eventually, I decided to forgo the resolution bandwagon. There’s nothing for me to really “solve” or “answer” this year, but there are things I want to do and accomplish before the year is up. 2012 was a bit weird; at times I felt like I was just biding my time: slogging through my Master’s program, making my way through work, going through the motions of a long distance relationship. There was some very bad (the loss of my grandmother, for instance) and some very, very good (I got engaged to my best friend), but mostly 2012 felt like a transition year for me.

430832_10100446751283784_2106517150_n

On the other hand, 2013 has a lot in store for me: this is the year I graduate from my Master’s program (!), the year my long distance relationship is no longer long distance (!!), the year I dive headfirst into planning our wedding, the year I move forward in my career. If 2012 was a year of transitions, 2013 is looking to be a year of big freaking deals.

So there are the obvious goals I want to achieve: of course I want to complete my Master’s thesis on time and graduate and walk across that stage like a boss. Of course I want to continue to maintain my weight loss, and continue to meet new friends and nurture my old friendships. But there are some other things I’d like to see happen this year, too:

I want to be more adventurous in the kitchen.

542651_10100432768305784_1788638013_n

It is so, so easy for me to fall into a cooking rut. I think a lot of it has to do with the fact that I’m generally only cooking for myself, and I can be really lazy when it comes to looking for new recipes or shopping for new ingredients. It’s so much easier and efficient to keep cooking the same old stuff. But I’m bored, and when I get bored with my food, I stop enjoying it. I have so many cookbooks and food magazines and resources at my disposal; I finally want to start utilizing them and get back to enjoying my time in the kitchen (and the fruits of my labor!)

I want to plan my wedding in the most efficient and stress-free manner possible.

165863_10100459601531784_1692653015_n

Considering we have sixteen months to go, Nick and I are at a really good place with our planning. We have some big ticket items knocked off the list, but we obviously still have a LOT more to do. We’ve tried to delegate tasks to each other, and we are so lucky to have friends and family offering us their time and assistance. Truth is, I got really bogged down in the early stages of the planning, and it very quickly became overwhelming and not fun at all. Once I stepped away, I reminded myself that, in essence, we’re just planning a really awesome party. At the end of the day, if Nick and I are married, I’ll consider it a smashing success. Every time I start getting overwhelmed, I remind myself of this and feel a little (ok, a lot) better.

I want to appreciate living alone. I’ve done it for about 2.5 years now, and I’ve loved it. As much as I hate being away from Nick, I am very glad that I’ve had the opportunity to live in my own space for a little while. I can’t wait to finally move in together, but I know that there are things that I take for granted now that I’ll miss at least a little when we do. For the next few months, I want to take advantage of my situation and savor it, especially since it’s probably the last time I’ll ever be able to! Trashy reality TV, here I come.

I want to cut Nick some slack.

131378_10100412880171764_1329787671_o

As a result of living alone, I’ve become very, very used to doing things my own way (one of the biggest perks, in my opinion!) When Nick and I DO finally move in together, I want to be open to compromise. I can be unbearably OCD about my living space, which can even annoy the crap out of ME. I want to loosen up and make sure that our home is comfortable for both of us, not just me.

I want to be better.

165025_10100453628172444_1688214158_n

See this post. I’m about halfway through my 26 acts of kindness, and it’s been one of the best experiences of my life. A few months ago, I mentioned to Nick that I had a desire to start volunteering; once I started my 26 acts, I realized just how much I enjoy the simply act of helping someone in need. I’m not really sure what I have in mind just yet, but I do know that well after my 26 acts are up, I want to keep this momentum going. I like taking the time to do something for someone other than myself, and I want to do more of it.

I want to cut myself some slack.

313647_10100441983243974_421729174_n

Last spring, I finally started limiting the time I spent doing schoolwork outside of school. The way I saw it, I worked my ass off for nine hours a day and deserved some “me” time when I got home. I’ll be real: I cannot successfully do my job without doing at least a LITTLE bit of work at home, but I can limit the time I spend grading papers and planning lessons outside of school hours. And, to be honest, I find that I’m a happier person (and therefore better teacher?) when I do draw the line. I’m going to continue this pattern this year because I think it’s been very good for me, both mentally and physically.

So that’s a rundown of the major things I’d like to work on before the end of the year. It’s going to be a busy one, but I am so, so excited to see it all unfold. I’ll be sure to keep you posted!

What are you working on this year? Resolutions, goals, dreams, plans?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 6, 2013 8:41 pm

    Living along rocks! I sometimes wish I had a small apartment that was my very own…that I could decorate and make smell nice and just be alone.

    You’ll totally walk like a boss…capstone paper or not!

    Great post…big year. Can’t wait to see what happens!

    • January 7, 2013 6:57 am

      Yeah, I do love having my own space, I’ll be honest about that. But I think the pros will outweigh any cons when he finally moves here!

      Can’t wait to keep you posted on what happens, either!

  2. January 9, 2013 2:48 pm

    I’ve been blogging about my goals too! Some of mine include losing weight, trying more new recipes, getting ahead at work and buying a house.

  3. January 25, 2013 1:11 am

    Ah, living alone is such a luxury. Until recently I was living in New York and the rare occasions when both roommates were gone I seriously had to force myself to leave the apartment because it was so nice!

    Teaching sounds so exhausting-I would need more than a little “me” time to recover from that!

    • January 26, 2013 8:35 am

      Haha it definitely is a luxury—even if it means that I can just watch old Sex and the City re runs and eat cereal from the box in peace! And yes, teaching is exhausting, but so worth it.

Leave a Reply

