Skip to content

Chocolate Oatmeal Peanut Brittle Cookies

January 31, 2013

Lately, life has included a lot of this:

313647_10100441983243974_421729174_n

(I almost break out in hives just looking at this pile of essays. And they’re from last quarter. Post traumatic grading disorder?)

And an equal amount of this tossed in for good measure:

photo(13)

(That would be my thesis timeline. Is it May 1st yet?)

Not to be one of those really obnoxious people who complains about being busy all the time, but…

life has been really busy. Exciting, and productive, and a lot of other good things, but also busy.

As a result, a lot of things have been moved to the back burner. My workouts are shorter (but surprisingly more effective. That’s a good thing, I guess!), and my meals have been a pretty sad combination of quick, easy, and very, very repetitive (there goes my goal to start cooking outside the box. Maybe that will finally start in, um, June?) And while it’s probably been good for my waist and my wallet, I haven’t been baking nearly as much. But old habits die hard, and I do still love baking for Nick when he comes to visit every two weeks. It’s the least I can do considering all the travel-hassle he goes through to get here, and it gives me an excuse to get back in the kitchen.

And I’m glad I had an excuse, or I might not have come up with these:

 

Chocolate Oatmeal Peanut Brittle Cookies

(adapted from Doughmesstic)

photo(11)

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1/2 cup old fashioned oats (not instant)
  • 6 tablespoons unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/4 cup all natural chunky peanut butter
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup light brown sugar, packed
  • 1 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/4 cup semisweet chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup peanut brittle

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350*.
  • Mix dry ingredients (flour through oats) in medium bowl until combined.
  • In bowl of a stand mixer, cream butters and sugars. Add in vanilla and egg and mix until combined.
  • Slowly add dry ingredients to wet, then fold in chocolate chips and peanut brittle.
  • Roll dough into tablespoon-sized balls and place evenly on baking sheet.
  • Bake for 9-11 minutes.

These are just the right balance of sweet and salty, chewy and crunchy, and based on the best food combination known to humankind: chocolate and peanut butter. You can’t go wrong!

Now who wants to give me an excuse to make something other than a stir fry for dinner? Anyone?

photo(12)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

