Skip to content

28

June 8, 2013

 

cake

The last few years have been such a whirlwind. While I definitely made time for fun, I hate to admit that so much of my time was spent just slogging along, my head down, trying to get through the other side of these huge mountains in my personal and professional life. Honestly, there was no way for me to get through a long distance relationship or my Master’s program other than just pushing along from one week then month then year to the next.

And I (we!) did it. I graduated with my Master’s degree a few weeks ago, and last weekend, after nearly SIX YEARS apart, Nick and I moved into our first shared apartment. Four days later, I turned 28. And while a small part of me is freaked out that I’m only two years away from turning 30, the much greater part of me is so content…no, so thrilled…with my life exactly as it is in this moment.

Nick and I went out for my birthday last night, and at dinner he asked me what I think 28 has in store for me. Besides the obvious (um…getting married!), I found myself pretty speechless. I have gotten so used to having these huge, lofty goals I want or need to accomplish each year that it seems bizarre to have come to a resting spot. But it also feels so, so wonderful.

So what do I want my 28th year to look like? What do I want to do?

I want to take my time making a new home with Nick, and I want to take time to just enjoy it. I want to enjoy the process of planning our wedding (and the wedding and marriage themselves!) I want to apply the skills I learned in my Master’s program and improve my teaching. I want to make more time for fun and exploration and travel and excitement, things that I put on the back burner for much of the last two and a half years. And more than anything else, I want to be healthy and happy.

There hasn’t been a year in recent memory that has held as much excitement or promise than this one, and I am so excited for everything in store.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 16, 2013 8:08 am

    Wow, congrats on an amazing few weeks! Life sounds like it’s very exciting for you right now . Happy belated birthday too!

  2. June 26, 2013 4:54 pm

    28 was such a great year. Everything really started to come together. I’m so glad you’re done with the slogging and can look forward with your face toward the sun. God, I’m poetic sometimes, huh?

  3. June 26, 2013 7:43 pm

    Thanks, lady! That poetry is exactly what I’m going to try to live this year!

Leave a Reply

