Skip to content

NROLFW Final Recap

September 22, 2013

Seven stages. Six months.

And just like that, I’m done!

NROLFW

Last week, I finished the final workout for the NROLFW program, and I feel pretty awesome. I’m proud of myself for sticking with the program, even when it got really difficult or really repetitive and boring. I’m proud of myself for committing to the challenge to steadily increase the weight for all of the exercises and (safely) pushing myself outside of my comfort zone. Mostly I’m proud of myself for completing an entire lifting plan and for proving that I’m stronger than I give myself credit for.

I went into NROLFW figuring that, if I could commit to a length half-marathon training plan, this should be no different. I was right—I love the structure and ease of a pre-planned workout which made it easy to stick with. I also loved seeing my strength increase over time; I’m not a competitive person, but I did find myself getting competitive…with myself! It was great motivation to keep pushing past my preconceived notions of what I thought I could do, and with motivation comes results.

Final thoughts:

  • I’m happy with my results, but as I previously mentioned, I know I would have seen even more dramatic changes had I followed the nutrition plan to a T. That being said, my arms, back, legs, shoulders, and butt are much stronger and much more defined, and I can even see a peek of my abs. My weight has stayed relatively the same, and my pants are quite a bit looser in the waist (but tighter in the butt and thighs! Helloooo squats!)
  • I am so, so out of running shape. Like, embarrassingly so. Like I’ve said before, the plan focuses on interval training, but very strongly discourages steady state endurance cardio. As a result, going for a 5k run feels like torture right now. I’d like to build my running base up at least a little bit in the next couple of months, but mainly as an obnoxious point of pride more than anything else.
  • I’m not quite sure what to do now that the plan is over! I think I might start it from the beginning, but follow it a bit more loosely. I definitely want to continue the functional movements/heavy weights aspect of the plan because I saw how effective that combination was for me.
  • I would definitely recommend the plan to anyone who was already comfortable in the weight room, especially if they were thinking of switching things up and trying something new. It’s easy to follow and effective, even more so if you stick with the nutrition plan.

So what’s next? NO CLUE. Anyone have any ideas?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

