Skip to content

Greek Yogurt & Oatmeal Banana Bread

March 4, 2014

Image

Today is my second snow day this week. 

And until this morning, I had lost count of how many snow days we’ve had so far this winter. (According to my school system’s post on Facebook, we’ve used eight snow days—and they only accounted for five in this year’s calendar. And winter doesn’t seem to be ending any time soon. So…)

As stir crazy as I am, and as concerned as I may be that I am never, ever going to get through all of my lessons for the year, the snow days have at least been good for my productivity. In the last two days alone I’ve tackled a huge chunk of both my school and wedding to-do lists (papers graded, quizzes written, grades entered, interims posted, ceremony script nearly finalized, bridal party gifts ordered, photo guestbook created, etc etc etc), which has left me feeling a little less frazzled and a lot more organized and accomplished than I did even a week ago.

The days off have also left me with a little bit of time to get into the kitchen and mess with one of my very favorite and classic standby recipes: banana bread.

Ever since Nick started his new job in December, I have been making banana bread at least once a week for him to take with him on the train as a mid-morning breakfast/snack. I had been making my go-to recipe for awhile, but I started to feel like it was a little too much butter/sugar/white flour for him to be eating on a daily basis (not like he would care, but I’m beginning to worry that I’m going to give him early onset diabetes or something). I’ve been messing around with some “healthier” recipes for the last few weeks, but haven’t really loved any of them; they were either too tough or dry or bland, and none of them lived up to the original.

And then today I stumbled on this Cooking Light banana bread recipe, made a few modifications, and the result was, dare I say, the best banana bread I’ve ever made. It is everything banana bread should be: moist, and just dense and sweet enough without feeling/tasting like dessert. And with a lot less butter and the additions of oatmeal and Greek yogurt, it’s at least a little bit healthier than the original.

Enjoy!

Ingredients:

  • 1.5 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup old fashioned oats
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup butter, melted
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups mashed ripe banana (about 3 bananas)
  • 1/3 cup plain non-fat Greek yogurt
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/3 cup chocolate chips
  • Cooking spray

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350°.
  2. Combine the flour, oats, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, and nutmeg in a medium bowl, stirring with a whisk.
  3. Place sugars and butter in a large bowl, and stir well blended. Add the eggs, 1 at a time, beating well after each addition. Add banana, yogurt, and vanilla; beat until blended. Add flour mixture; stir to combine just until moist. Gently fold in chocolate chips. Spoon batter into an 9×5 inch loaf pan coated with cooking spray. Bake at 350° for 45 minutes or until a wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean. Cool 10 minutes in pan on a wire rack; remove from pan. Cool completely on wire rack.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

